Right Kiss. Wrong Guy. by Natalie Decker blitz with giveaway

Standard

Right Kiss. Wrong Guy.
Natalie Decker
Published by: Swoon Romance
Publication date: January 23rd 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

You’d think a girl with the most romantic name in the world would have her pick of boyfriends.

But Valentine’s Day sucks when you’re single. Just ask Juliet Valentine, whose last name happens to also be the name of the most dreaded made-up holiday ever.

A romantic at heart, this year is especially hard on Juliet. Her sister, Layla, is in a new relationship, her mom’s match-making business is doing great, and her school’s new fundraiser is “Love-Grams.”

Juliet’s miserable, a little jealous, and lonely.

Quarterback Jared Black is the most popular guy in school. A star athlete, Jared tops the most-eligible bachelor list year after year. But to Juliet Valentine, he’s all but invisible. She isn’t impressed.

Jared’s never had to work hard to get the attention of a girl before. Valentine’s Day is fast approaching, and he’s determined to ask Juliet out. After all, if Tyler can win over Layla, Jared ought to have a shot with Layla’s sister.

Unlike Tyler and Layla, charm, flattery and good looks won’t work on Juliet. So with the V-Day dance coming up, Jared uses the school’s Love-Grams to let Juliet know how he feels. Should be simple enough, right?

Wrong. Each attempt ends up either in the trash or thrown in someone’s face. Juliet won’t play his game.

Now, without a date to the dance Jared realizes it’s going to take a Hail Mary to win the girl of his dreams.

Goodreads / Amazon

Author Bio:

Natalie Decker is the author of RIVAL LOVE series and the Scandalous Boys series. She loves oceans, sunsets, sand between her toes, and carefree days. Her imagination is always going, which some find odd. But she believes in seeing the world in a different light at all times. Her first passion for writing started at age twelve when she had to write a poem for English class. However, seventh grade wasn’t her favorite time and books were her source of comfort. She took all college prep classes in High school, and attended the University of Akron. Although she studied Mathematics she never lost her passion for writing or her comfort in books. She’s a mean cook in the kitchen, loves her family and friends and her awesome dog infinity times infinity. If she’s not writing, reading, traveling, hanging out with her family and friends, then she’s off having an adventure. Because Natalie believes in a saying: Your life is your own journey, so make it amazing!
Find out more visit: http://www.authornataliedecker.com

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
XBTBanner1

Advertisements

The Day after Oblivion by Tim Washburn @timwash @KensingtonBooks #bookreview #thriller

Standard

35157285

Title: The Day after Oblivion

Author: Tim Washburn

Publisher: Pinnacle

Publication Date: January 30, 2018

Page Count: 561

My rating:  4 stars

About the book:

AND SO IT BEGINS…
In the United States, the Department of Defense and the NSA computer networks have been hacked. A nuclear-armed CIA drone has lost all flight control. North Korea . . . Iran . . . Russia . . . and soon the gates of Hell will open.
 
DEFCON 1—FULL SCALE NUCLEAR WAR
Humanity’s most terrifying nightmare has become reality. Bombs are detonated, missiles are launched, counterstrikes are ordered, and within minutes, untold thousands of megatons have left countless millions dead or dying. Devastation of biblical proportions has fallen over the land . . . and the USA has been hit the hardest.
 
NOW THE SURVIVORS ARE ON THEIR OWN…
The death toll is incalculable. Following the devastation, there is no law, no power, no communication. But there are survivors. And now the real battle begins, on the ground, hand to hand, person to person. Can those who remain survive long enough to rebuild a world . . . or will it just take a little longer for them to die?

my-review_43_orig

The Day after Oblivion by Tim Washburn is an apocalyptic thriller that takes readers on the wild ride of just what might happen if we face another world war. The story started with bringing in computer experts when it looks like the government has been hacked. Things quickly escalate leading the world to an all out nuclear war.

After the dust settles there are some survivors left in the world and this book tells their story and what it might be like for those left. The chapters are fairly short with each changing the point of view between different characters and groups that have survived and what is happening with them.

I have to admit I’ve always been a bit of a fan of the doomsday scenario movies and books. Who knows, maybe one of these apocalyptic thrillers will give me the tips to survive if it looks as if the world is actually ending or in the very least they are fun to read to pass the time with all the action and events.

I don’t know that I would say this book held anything new or amazing but even so I still found it to be an entertaining read. All of the survivors in the story seemed to lead completely different lives and have differing views on how and what to do after the bombs dropped so it made for interesting reading switching between what was going on with each of them at any given time. In the end I thought this was a solid read and would definitely check out more from this author in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

8435928

About the author:

After graduating with a Journalism degree from the University of Oklahoma, Tim Washburn spent several years working in the television business. He’s worked as a photographer, producer, special projects director, and programming director both in Oklahoma City and Little Rock, Arkansas.

Shortly After the birth of their first child, he and his wife made the decision that Tim would be a stay-at-home dad, while doing some freelance journalism jobs on the side. Tim’s been president of the PTA, a soccer coach, a volleyball coach, and a life coach.

Tim knew from a young age that I wanted to write, but it wasn’t until several years ago that he turned his focus to writing and founds his passion.

Tim hopes his novel entertains you and that some of that characters may linger long after the book is finished .

 

Cover Reveal: Hiding Lies by Julie Cross

Standard

Let us know what you think of the cover for Hiding Lies (Eleanor Ames, #2) by NYT bestselling author Julie Cross, which releases April 17, 2018!

This cover reveal is brought to you by Entangled Teen.

About Hiding Lies:

At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a way of coming to the surface.

Eleanor Ames has never been what she seems. Average high school student on the outside, but reformed con artist trying to break free of her past on the inside. When Eleanor receives startling news about someone from her previous criminal life, plans for a new operation coinciding with her school’s upcoming field trip quickly consume her.

But operations rarely go according to plan. And this is one her irresistible teen FBI agent boyfriend, Miles, would never approve of.

Now, more than just Ellie’s reputation is at stake. If she fails, it could be her life.

Want to read more? Pre-order your copy of Hiding Lies (Eleanor Ames, #2) by NYT bestselling author Julie Cross today!

add-to-goodreads

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Entangled Publishing

About Julie Cross:

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press). She’s also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

 

Daughter of the Goddess by Rita Webb blitz with giveaway

Standard

Daughter of the Goddess
Rita Webb
Publication date: November 20th 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

The wind calls her to play.

Will she listen?

I was a nameless child abandoned on the temple doorsteps.

Soul, the gods called me. So they named me Nephecia.

My plans don’t include marriage to some silly nobleman. When I come of age, I will take vows and devote my life to serving the goddess of Light. As a priestess, a daughter of the goddess, I’ll make the world a better place.

The summer before my eighteenth birthday, an oracle arrives with word from the gods: I must leave the only home, the only family, I’ve ever known, to marry a stranger in a foreign land.

There must be some mistake.

If I follow my own plans, I’ll disobey the very goddess I want to serve. But how can I trust the gods have my best interest at heart?

______________________________________________________

Daughter of the Goddess is a Young Adult Fairy Tale retelling of the Greek myth Eros and Psyche, set in a fantasy world.

If you enjoy sweet love stories and fairy tales, then you’ll fall in love with Nephecia’s story. Grab your copy today.

Goodreads / Amazon

99¢ for a limited time only!

Q&A with author Rita Webb

Where did you get the idea for Daughter of the Goddess?

My favorite Greek myth is the story of Eros and Psyche. I think it’s the only Greek myth I read with anywhere close to a happy ending, even if there was a great deal of turmoil getting there.

The philosopher in me always wondered what a soul really was. When someone says, “That music is full of soul,” what does that mean?

So Nephecia epitomizes what I believe soul means. I took her out of Ancient Greece and put her into a world of my own making.

How did the name “Psyche” become “Nephecia”?

I searched other languages for the word “Soul” and found nephesh in Hebrew.

How did the name “Eros” become “Gabin”?

Gabin is a variation of Gabriel (according to my baby name book), that means “Hero of God.” I remember something about it meaning “Beloved by God” too.

Why do you write stories?

I have 3 daughters, ages 15, 13, and 11, and I want them to grow up believing in their dreams. The only way I can see that happening is if I believe in my own.

What’s your secret to success?

My husband. He believes in me, and when I’m discouraged, he never lets me give up.

What one piece of advice do you have for new writers?

Read, write, study, write some more. Never give up. Okay, that’s 5 pieces of advice.

Author Bio:

Leaving the house to go to school, I had schoolbooks spilling out of one hand, the other holding my place in a Nancy Drew novel, and bunny slippers still on my feet. My mom was a wee bit upset.

I haven’t changed much. Still always have a book (or two) in my hand or creating stories in my head, and although I don’t have any bunny slippers, I love writing in my jammies and snuggly slipper socks.

With my husband TJ (my own cuddly werewolf), I home-school our three girls, who keep us busy with art, science projects, books to read, dance classes, and walks about the park.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Cover Reveal: The Internship of Pippa Darling by Stephanie Keyes

Standard

The Internship of Pippa Darling
Stephanie Keyes
Publication date: March 16th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Grad student, Pippa Darling, is thrilled when she’s chosen for a summer writing internship at Tèarmunn Castle in Ireland, but devastated when she learns it’s with overnight sensation, Finn Burke. The previous authors who’ve worked with him have gone on to receive tremendous book deals. But how can she get excited about working beside an author whose book she hates, especially when no one can compare to her favorite writer, the elusive James Black?

Finn Burke believes in giving back, which is why he’s chosen one student from his alma mater as an intern every year since his debut novel hit the NYT bestseller list. When Pippa arrives at his castle-in-progress off the coast of County Donegal, Ireland, he kisses her, then fires her. Yet, with no one else to fill in on short notice and a looming deadline, Finn has to keep Pippa on—even if it means keeping secrets.

When the critique sessions intensify, tension builds between the pair. They’re driven into one another’s arms. Yet, when Pippa discovers what Finn’s been hiding, will it bring them closer or break them apart?

Add to Goodreads


Author Bio:

Stephanie Keyes is the author of the YA Fantasy series, The Star Child [Inkspell Publishing], which includes The Star Child, After Faerie, The Fallen Stars, The Star Catcher, The Last Protector, and A Faerie Wedding. In 2016, Inkspell compiled The Star Child novellas into the paperback, Into Faerie: The Star Child Novellas. Her work also appears in the compilations Can’t Buy Me Love, Moonbeams and Magic, Blood In The Shadows, and the international bestseller, Ever in the After: 13 Fantasy Tales.

Ms. Keyes has presented and facilitated courses throughout the US and the UK. In addition, her work has received multiple commendations, including the following: 2015 BTS Magazine Reader’s Choice Awards Finalist, 2014 Dante Rossetti Young Adult Novel Awards—Mythological Category—First Place, 2013 Kindle Book Awards Semi-finalist. Keyes was also selected as a 2015 Rutgers University One-On-One Plus Conference mentee. She’s an active member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and Pennwriters.

When she’s not writing, Keyes is an adjunct faculty member at the Community College of Allegheny County (CCAC). She also works as a freelance graphic and instructional designer.

She lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with her husband and her boys, Hip-Hop and Bam-Bam, and dogs Duncan MacLeod and Princess Riley. Steph is a hopeless romantic and Whovian who’s shamelessly addicted to Nutella and spontaneous singing.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


XBTBanner1

The Burial Society by Nina Sadowsky #bookreview #thriller

Standard

35489868

Title: The Burial Society

Author: Nina Sadowsky

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Publication Date: January 30, 2018

Page Count: 336

My rating:  3 stars

About the book:

A woman running from a dark past stumbles upon a tangled nest of seductions and secrets in this psychological thriller of obsession and betrayal.

Catherine, no last name, doesn’t bury the dead. She rescues the living—from intolerable, abusive, dangerous lives. Her darknet-based witness protection program, the Burial Society, is the last hope for people who desperately need to disappear. Catherine takes care of them and provides new identities. She is effective and efficient—until she discovers that her slipup may have compromised a client, maybe even killed her. Powerless to help without exposing her shadowy profession, Catherine makes a drastic move.

With her covert service relocated to Paris, Catherine’s done her best to move on. But when a dark part of her past suddenly appears in the City of Light, she refuses to run—and her life takes a harrowing turn.

Using all the tricks of her unusual trade, Catherine weaves her way through a dangerous landscape of treachery, infidelity, paranoia, and secrets that bind as deeply as blood. But the evil of the enemy she’s pursuing runs deeper still—to the bone. And even Catherine’s most cunning skills may not be enough to save herself.

my-review_43_orig

The Burial Society by Nina Sadowsky is a psychological thriller that to be honest I struggled with my feelings on the entire book. The synopsis is a tad misleading on this one as it mainly promotes Catherine and the Burial Society that has been set up to help out victims but in one such case Catherine feels she failed.

The story however with this one has many different characters that are given a voice as the point of view switches with each chapter. The chapters are also fairly short so especially in the beginning of this one it was a bit of whip lash trying to figure out who was who with it switching rather quickly.

As the book starts a young girl is returning home and finds her father murdered. We find that Natalie along with her brother and father had already lost their mother a few years back. Their mother was the woman that Catherine had failed to help and now with this new murder Catherine feels the need to step in and unbury the truth.

First I should give a trigger warning with this one as it did contain self harm in the story which wasn’t surprising given the situation. As for whether I liked this one or not I was still debating that all the way through. It wasn’t bad really but I’m not sure if it was the style in which it’s done or what but I also didn’t fall in love with it either thus the mid-range rating, in the end it was just one of those OK reads for me.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

14031751

About the author:

Nina R. Sadowsky’s eclectic career has spanned work as an entertainment lawyer, a producer, a film executive, a screenwriter, a director and a film professor. She has written numerous original screenplays and adaptations and done rewrites for such companies as The Walt Disney Company, Working Title Films, and Lifetime Television.

She is currently serving as adjunct faculty at USC’s School of Cinematic Arts program, teaching both script development and producing. She has also served as adjunct faculty at Syracuse University’s Semester in L.A. and has been a frequent guest lecturer at Columbia College Chicago’s semester in L.A. program. Sadowsky is also proud to be serving as a mentor for the Humanitas Prize’s New Voices initiative. She is also excited to be newly accepted into International Thriller Writers, Inc.

She is recently married to businessman Gary Hakman, with whom she shares two children and two stepchildren, living proof that a second marriage is a trumph of optimism over experience.

 

 

Baby, I’m Howling For You (Alphaville #1) by Christine Warren @ChrstineWarren @StMartinsPress #bookreview #fantasy #romance

Standard

35696971

Title: Baby, I’m Howling For You

Author: Christine Warren

Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperbacks

Publication Date: January 30, 2018

Page Count: 320

My rating:  4 stars

About the book:

WELCOME TO ALPHAVILLE, where the she-wolves and alpha-males play. . .for keeps.

Renny Landry is a wolf on the run. Pursued by a shapeshifting stalker and his slobbering pack of killer coyotes, she is forced to flee her job as a librarian to find sanctuary in the wooded hills of Alpha, Washington. A well-secluded safe space for troubled shifters, Alpha is Renny’s last hope. But the first person she meets there is a gorgeous alpha male with fiery eyes, fierce tattoos, and one ferocious appetite—for her…

Mick Fischer thought he left his past behind when he moved to Alpha. But fate has a way of biting him in the tail when a female wolf shows up on his property. Wounded, desperate—and disarmingly hot—Renny brings out the snarling, protective alpha beast in Mick like no other woman he’s known. Can these two haunted, hunted wolves manage to mate for life…even as the deadliest past demons howl at their heels?

my-review_43_orig

Baby, I’m Howling For You by Christine Warren is the first full length novel in the Alphaville series. There is a prequel novella that opened up the series that came before this book but it’s not really necessary to have read that to enjoy this installment of the series. The novella simply introduced readers to the town of Alphaville where shifters have set up a safe haven for all types of shifters to come and live in harmony. The main characters are different between the books though so that each have a new couple of shifters that find they are mates.

In this book Renny Landry is on the run from a stalker that has sent a group to capture her and puts all her faith that she will find Alphaville and it will offer her safety. As she runs from her pursuers she finds a cabin outside of the town that is occupied by Mick Fischer just in time for Mick to save Renny from the attackers. Renny soon finds herself surrounded by the good citizens of Alphaville who are determined to help protect her from her stalker as she and Mick also find that they are fated to be mates.

Christine Warren certainly made Baby, I’m Howling For You a entertaining read by throwing in a bit of danger into this romantic fantasy read. There was always something happening in the story from the bad guys attacks to the steamy moments that come from a newly mated shifter couple. Renny and Mick were great main characters that I liked along with the other shifters in the town helping them along. I completely enjoyed this addition to the series and look forward to seeing more of the residents from Alphaville in the future installments of the series.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

41032 (1)

About the author:

Born and raised in coastal New England, Christine Warren lived in the South and the Mid-Atlantic before hopping to the other side of the country to take up the life of a transplant in the Pacific Northwest. She completely bypassed those states in the middle due to her landlocking phobia. Hmm, need to research a scientific term for that…

When not scrambling frantically to complete her latest writing project, Christine spends most of her time as a crazy animal lady, hanging out with her dog Levi (he’s the one with the hair) and pretending to train him to have some manners. She also hangs out with her horse, Cal—a thoroughbred with a craving for strawberry licorice twists—her goddog, Merlin; and her best friend, fellow author Hannah Murray. In addition to playing with her pets, Christine’s hobbies include identifying dog breeds from photos of their underbellies, appreciating fine and not-so-fine wines, shopping for the perfect pair of Christian Louboutin shoes, and most of all reading things someone else had to agonize over.

She enjoys hearing from readers and can be reached via email sent to Christine@christinewarren.net or by postal mail to Christine Warren, PO Box 871900, Vancouver, WA 98687-1900.

Promise Me by Kelly Walker blitz with giveaway

Standard

 

Promise Me
Kelly Walker
Publication date: January 21st 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Self-professed Harry Potter addict and math genius River Jacobsen can count on one hand the people who matter in her life. Really, it’s just Dean, the boy who loves her despite her odd habit of counting everything around her when she needs to quiet her mind. When Dean promised her forever she never imagined it would be a lie.

After Marine hacker Ian Maclean is mistakenly declared dead by the US government, he’s happy to correct them the moment he escapes captivity. He wants nothing more than to get home to the wife he left behind. Discovering she’s been cheating on him since the moment he deployed wasn’t in the plan. Devastated, he walks away from everything, even his name.

With the futures they were counting on destroyed, Ian and River find themselves starting over. Ian reminds River of things she’d much rather forget, but pushing him away is harder than she expected. Ian wants a second chance at happily ever after, but the more he gets to know River, the more he worries she isn’t trying to figure out how to live again, but how to die.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks

EXCERPT:

“Please.” I meet his eyes, so he knows how serious I am. “It’s just easier this way.”

He sinks back into his couch, putting his feet up on the coffee table, staring at me. “You know she’s going to figure it out, right? I can put the money into her account.

That’s no problem. But not even I can fake it to make it look like it came from the DOD.”

Widows of dead soldiers get death benefits, but that goes out the window when you turn out not to be dead. “It’ll buy me time. And she’s not exactly Warren Buffet when it comes to money. As long as the balance is about what she expects, God only knows when she’ll look at a statement and see the source.”

“I’m just going to say this one more time: it’s not the end of the world if she learns the truth. And even if she does figure it out, that doesn’t mean she can find you. We buried your trail. And she’s not looking for an Ian.”

I close my eyes. I don’t want her looking for me. Because as good as I am at seeing what others want to hide, when it comes to Olivia Reisner, I’m blind. (pg. 39)

 

Author Bio:

Kelly Walker is a YA and NA author of several romantic titles, including the Souls of the Stones Fantasy Romance series. She has an unhealthy appreciation for chocolate, and a soft spot for rescued animals. Her best lessons on writing came from a lifetime of reading. She loves the fantastical, and the magical, and believes a captivating romance can be the most realistic magic of all. Kelly, her husband and her two children share their Virginia home with three dogs who walk her, and two cats who permit her to occasionally share their couch.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Cross Stroke by Elizabeth Hartey blitz with giveaway

Standard

Cross Stroke
Elizabeth Hartey
Publication date: January 16th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Tracey…

One night left my heart shattered and my reputation ruined, and now my only hope is to transfer to another university far from home. Although I’m a champion figure skater and am used to succeeding, I can’t dump the burden of distrust and intimacy I’m carrying.

But when I literally crash into the cocky captain of the hockey team, sparks fly, and the attraction is as undeniable as it is unwanted.

No way is this arrogant hottie the one to help me move past my fears. Or is he…?

Dak…

Overwhelmed with guilt and remorse, I can’t forget the tragic accident that killed my first love. To avoid ever feeling that kind of agonizing loss again, I vow to stick with one-night stands with every puck bunny who glides my way and focus on keeping my position on the hockey team.

But after I meet a feisty figure skater and am then thrown together with her as a lab partner, I find I want to melt the icy walls we’ve built around our hearts.

If we don’t strangle each other first.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

Tracey

My next trip into unrequited love land occurred with the esoteric art student. He had long flowing hair and haunting amber gold eyes which seemed to hold the secrets of life and made my limbs quiver. Things went pretty much the same with art boy as they did with rock god. Another beautiful friend who was unable to quench my robust desires. I introduced my music friend to my art friend and hearts and flowers bloomed all

around—for them. I was happy for them. Really. Sort of. Okay, I was pissed. But I eventually got over it, and didn’t panic.

Having seen that look before, the first time rock god gazed at me, I’m not surprised or bothered by the way I’m imagining the jackass swallowing me with his eyes right now. I know it means nothing. What does bother me is his panty melting body in full view, which I, on the other hand, am more than attracted to. My legs are starting to feel rubbery underneath me. Bambi might be the right name for me after all.

“Maybe you need glasses, Bambi.” The jackass smirks. “You can’t see the big things right in front of you.”

“My eyes are fine. For instance, I don’t see anything big in front of me at the moment.” I glance down at the Thor-size hammer between his legs.

What? I’m certainly not going to tell him he’s been blessed by the gods.

He finally decides to wrap his towel around his miraculous…waist. Doesn’t help though. I’m still aware of the perfect V of his oblique muscles pointing the way to wonderland.

“Never had any complaints before.” He grins. “And I was referring to the big black letters on the door of the locker room.”

“I came in to change my clothes.” I flip my hair back in a perfect ‘f… off’ maneuver.

“I can see that, Bambi.” He arches a brow while taking one more long survey up and down my body. “But this,” he points one finger from side to side, “is the boys’ locker room, and unless you want to start a riot, I suggest you get out of here before the hockey team gets off the ice.”


Author Bio:

As a lover of the northeast US, my husband and I moved to the Poconos several years ago to open a Chiropractic Clinic. Four children and a menagerie of animals later, I have finally found time to fulfill my lifelong dream of writing novels. A dreamer at heart, romance is—of course—the genre I spend most of my time writing and reading into the wee hours of the morning. However, if it’s a good book, any genre can keep me immersed in the story for hours.

When I’m not juggling work responsibilities and writing, I enjoy baking, knitting, traveling, hiking the beautiful hills and woods around my home and spending time with my family.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Class Reunions Are Murder (A Poppy McAllister Mystery #1) by Libby Klein @LibbyKleinBooks @KensingtonBooks #bookreview #mystery

Standard

35225597

Title: Class Reunions Are Murder

Author: Libby Klein

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date: January 30, 2018

Page Count: 341

My rating:  5 stars

About the book:

For fortysomething Poppy McAllister, taking a stroll down memory lane in Cape May, New Jersey, isn’t just awkward—it’s deadly.

Newly widowed and stuck in a middle-aged funk, Poppy has been running on cookies, infomercials, and one-sided chats with her cat for months. There’s no way on earth she’s attending her twenty-five-year class reunion—especially after receiving a very bizarre letter from Barbie, the popular cheerleader who taunted her all through high school. At least, not until Poppy’s best friend practically drags her to the event . . .

Using the dreaded homecoming as an excuse to visit her eccentric Aunt Ginny, Poppy vows to leave Cape May with pride and Spanx intact. Too bad Barbie is still the queen of mean at the reunion. And worse, that her dead body is lying right in front of Poppy’s old locker. Singled out as the killer, it’s up to Poppy to confront her past and clear her name. But between protecting her aunt from disaster and tackling a gluten-free diet, can Poppy crack the case before she’s voted “Most Likely to Die” by the murderer?

Includes Seven Recipes from Poppy’s Kitchen!

my-review_43_orig

Class Reunions Are Murder by Libby Klein is the first book in the new cozy Poppy McAllister Mystery series. From the opening pages of this book I knew I was going to be in for a really good read when I was already laughing before the story had really even begun.

Poppy is single again after the death of her husband and just learning how to be on her own again while dealing with a meddlesome mother in law when she gets an invite to her class reunion. Now Poppy does not have the fondest memories of high school with her own version of the mean cheerleaders at the forefront of her mind she is determined not to go but breaks down when her best friend begs her to come along.

As torturous as the reunion sounds Poppy knows she really should return to Cape May to see her aunt who she hasn’t done the best of keeping in touch with over the years. After arriving Poppy finds Aunt Ginny has been having a bit of trouble with social services due to her eccentric ways and then to top it all off Poppy finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation after the dreaded reunion.

I don’t even know if I can truly express just how great this little cozy gem was, I just loved the entire book. All of those little elements that get me totally engaged in a cozy were in this one, a funny and engaging main character, a spunky elderly aunt, a crazy kitty for a companion and wrap all that up with a compelling mystery to solve between the laughs.

Poppy did not take but a few page turns to completely gain my attention and interest as a lead character. Here we have an “older” main character telling this story who is also on the plus size with a junk food addiction to ease her troubles and one heck of a character for a pet cat, I could totally relate to her almost instantly. The only thing I think might be a turn off for some is Poppy fat-shaming herself but I hate to say it but I’ve been there so her sarcastic nature hooked me right in.

This was also a book that I felt I got to know a lot of the other characters in the story rather easily and give the author two thumbs up for her character development. Often only a main character and possibly one or two others become as distinct but she did a wonderful job pulling me into this world and getting to know everyone. When all was said and done I was a huge fan and really look forward to many more books in this series.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

A1+FWQaIIEL._SY200_

About the author:

Libby Klein graduated Lower Cape May Regional High School sometime in the ’80s. Her classes revolved mostly around the culinary sciences and theater, with the occasional nap in Chemistry. She has worked as a stay at home mom, climbing the ladder up the ranks to the coveted position of Grandma. She also dabbles in the position of Vice President of a technology company which mostly involves bossing other people around, making spreadsheets and taking out the trash. She writes from her Northern Virginia office while trying to keep her cat Figaro off her keyboard. Most of her hobbies revolve around eating, and travel, and eating while traveling.