Don’t Fear the Reaper (Netherworld, #1) by Michelle Muto


Don't Fear the Reaper (Netherworld, #1)Don’t Fear the Reaper by Michelle Muto
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After the death of her twin sister Keely Morrison has sank further and further into a depression and now has decided that suicide is her only way out and a chance to reunite with her sister. Keely finds herself in the bathtub when a man appears and Keely thinks that he has saved her until he parents come home. Then she learns that her attempt was a success as she watches her parents grieve over her body.

Keely finds that the man she thought saved her life is actually a reaper and now Keely is trapped in a netherworld on Earth. Her hope of finding her sister and seeking revenge on her murderer has Keely in an in between state fighting for her soul and her sister to find peace or spend eternity in hell.

Don’t Fear the Reaper was an OK story of what could happen in the afterlife but I felt that it really didn’t wow me with originality either. I’ve read others that are very similar to this one and while there are some interesting things tossed in to explain Keely and her depression and the overall plot was enjoyable enough it did seem to be a bit predictable.

I think for me what could have been done a bit better is Keely’s interactions with Banning and Daniel. Her situation gets slowly explained with these two seeming to have the answers but just not being forthcoming which made the story drag along where I would prefer there just be more action happening.

Overall, an OK read, good writing just not much to stand out as new and original to have me extremely excited in this read.

I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Marry Me Mad by Katy Regnery blitz with giveaway


Marry Me Mad
Katy Regnery
(The Rousseaus, #2)
Publication date: October 21st 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Did you fall in love with The English Brothers? Were you hot for the Winslows? Katy Regnery’s New York Times bestselling Blueberry Lane series continues with The Rousseau siblings in 2016!

For as long as Madeleine “Mad” Rousseau can remember, she’s been the “sweet” twin to her sister Jax’s “sassy.” But after an especially painful break-up, Mad decides she’s had enough of being sweet. Children’s librarian during the day, she begins visiting Philly’s seedier nightspots on a quest for adventure. When Cortlandt “Cort” Ambler, the ex-boyfriend of Mad’s sister, Jax, saves her from disaster on one such evening, an unlikely friendship is born between the rebellious librarian and the moonlighting pianist…and two broken hearts begin a journey toward being whole again.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo



He turned to find Mad standing in the doorway of the small room holding a towel and dragged his eyes hungrily from her bare feet, over the lines of her comfy gray pants, to her soft-blue, scoop-necked T-shirt, ending at the shiny onyx waves of hair that framed her lovely face.

His breath caught as he stared into her eyes, recognizing the girl he’d known in the mouth-watering body of the full-grown woman before him and feeling blessed beyond measure to have this glimpse of her that he suspected few were privy to: Mad

Rousseau without the heels and chignon—heart-stoppingly beautiful and utterly captivating au natural.

He cleared his throat and she grimaced, dropping her eyes to her toes and the towel to the arm of the sofa.

“I’ll get us some tea,” she murmured, slipping away in a hurry.

Cort stared at the space she’d vacated so quickly, feeling confused, wondering what the heck had just happened. Why had she grimaced? Why had she looked…disappointed? Picking up the towel as he followed her to the kitchen, he pushed open the swing door and stood just inside of it, scrubbing the rainwater from his hair as he watched her work in the small space. She finished filling a kettle with water and placed it on the stove, finally glancing up at him sheepishly.

“Not a good look for me,” she said softly, standing up on her tiptoes to open a cabinet over the microwave. “I’ve already been told. Multiple times.”

“I’m sorry…you’ve been told what exactly?” he asked. He looped the towel around his neck and stepped toward her, reaching over her head for the mugs she wanted. He held them out to her, and she flicked her glance to them before gesturing to her clothes.

“That I can do better than sweats and a T-shirt.” She shrugged. “But I was wet and cold and tired. I didn’t feel like putting on another outfit, so I—”

“I’m sorry. Wait a minute,” he said, putting the mugs down on the counter and staring at her in disbelief. “Are you apologizing to me for the clothes you’re wearing?”

She gestured helplessly with one hand. “I saw the way you looked at me.”

“Baby,” he said, reaching out to touch the soft-blue fabric covering her shoulder and running his fingers over the small sleeve of the T-shirt, then down the length of her arm, “you look good enough to eat. You look beautiful. And anyone who thinks different is a blind fucking lunatic.”

“Cort,” she gasped, her eyes softening as she stared up at him.

“I’m serious. The pencil skirt and fancy hair? Gorgeous. Sure. But this?” He let his eyes roam slowly, intently over her form, pausing at the luscious mounds of her breasts before stopping at her lips as his fingers threaded through hers. “This is you, Mad. And you’re…” He shook his head looking for the right words, but only one circled around and around in his head. “Baby, you’re music.”


Author Bio:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Katy Regnery started her writing career by enrolling in a short story class in January 2012. One year later, she signed her first contract and Katy’s first novel was published in September 2013.

Twenty-five books later, Katy claims authorship of the multi-titled, New York Times and USA Today Blueberry Lane Series, which follows the English, Winslow, Rousseau, Story, and Ambler families of Philadelphia; the six-book, bestselling ~a modern fairytale~ series; and several other standalone novels and novellas.

Katy’s first modern fairytale romance, The Vixen and the Vet, was nominated for a RITA® in 2015 and won the 2015 Kindle Book Award for romance. Katy’s boxed set, The English Brothers Boxed Set, Books #1–4, hit the USA Today bestseller list in 2015, and her Christmas story, Marrying Mr. English, appeared on the list a week later. In May 2016, Katy’s Blueberry Lane collection, The Winslow Brothers Boxed Set, Books #1-4, became a New York Times E-book bestseller.

In 2016, Katy signed a print-only agreement with Spencerhill Press. As a result, her Blueberry Lane paperback books will now be distributed to brick and mortar bookstores all over the United States.

Katy lives in the relative wilds of northern Fairfield County, Connecticut, where her writing room looks out at the woods, and her husband, two young children, two dogs, and one Blue Tonkinese kitten create just enough cheerful chaos to remind her that the very best love stories begin at home.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

a Rafflecopter giveaway


In a Gilded Cage by Mia Kerick blitz with giveaway


In a Gilded Cage
Mia Kerick
(Evernight Publishing)
Publication date: October 21st 2016
Genres: LGBTQ+, New Adult, Romance

Lucci Grimley is indeed alluring—crowned with a mane of long blond hair, and blessed with an enchanting musical talent that draws a brave rescuer to a high tower hidden in the forest.

However, this modern-day Rapunzel is a young man, sold as a child to the wealthy and childless Damien Gotham for the price of a fast car and a pile of cash. And Lucci’s heroic prince is William “Prin” Prinzing, a handsome college student and star soccer player, hired to care for the grounds of the lavish Tower Estate. Prin climbs an extension ladder rather than a long golden braid to gain access to Lucci’s second floor bedroom window, ultimately penetrating the secrecy surrounding the cloistered young man.

Friendship, and soon romance, blooms. The tower captive eagerly gives his loving innocence to his brave rescuer, which sends the strict and reclusive Gotham into a frenzy of jealous rage. With Prin, Lucci gets a taste of real life, and he wants more. Together, the young men must face Gotham’s ruthlessness and pay the price of liberating Lucci.

Goodreads / Amazon



He is awaiting me in the entryway, somehow appearing to be comfortable in the antique ladder-back chair. This is indeed a horrid surprise.

“You were outside, Lucas.” Father must certainly have spies hidden throughout the property, watching me constantly and revealing my every movement. “You left the house without my permission.”

“You were asleep, Father. I did not wish to disturb you to ask for permission to explore the maze.” I push all of my breath into my voice in an effort to sound like my

heart is light and free of guilt. From the way he scowls, I believe my effort has failed.

“There is no room for excuses, son. You broke a rule by leaving the building without my consent. There will be a consequence.” He smiles as if in an attempt to comfort me, and I can see long straight teeth hidden in his bushy beard. “We will take care of your punishment tonight. After we dine.”

I don’t try to fight the shiver of dread. I allow it to swallow my body and raise tiny bumps on my skin. “Of course, Father.”

The man stands. Every time he rises to his full height I am newly impressed by how large he is. And how small I feel. But I do not meet his eyes, as I do not want to break another rule. “Very well, Lucas. I must attend to some imperative business in the conference room. I suggest you proceed to your suite and busy yourself with music. It is far more constructive than playing like a child in the outdoors.”

“Shall I practice my flute, sir?”

“No. I would prefer that you spend the afternoon vocalizing. I will come upstairs to listen to your progress on ‘February Song’ in due time.” He clears his throat in a manner I find repulsive, but I do not flinch as I once did. “I will not knock before entering.”

I know precisely what his words suggest: when Father bursts into my room, it will be in my best interest if I am singing. Not daydreaming. Or doodling. Or longing for days gone by. I must be actively singing. “Yes, sir. May I be excused?”

“There is one more small issue, Lucas. I do not care to see your feet bare, especially not soiled like a child stricken with rural poverty, until I remove your shoes myself as I prepare you for bed.”

He then nods and gestures with his hand—I have been dismissed.

Author Bio:

Mia Kerick is the mother of four exceptional children—all named after saints—and five nonpedigreed cats—all named after the next best thing to saints, Boston Red Sox players. Her husband of twenty years has been told by many that he has the patience of Job, but don’t ask Mia about that, as it is a sensitive subject.

Mia focuses her stories on the emotional growth of troubled young men and their relationships, and she believes that sex has a place in a love story, but not until it is firmly established as a love story. As a teen, Mia filled spiral-bound notebooks with romantic tales of tortured heroes (most of whom happened to strongly resemble lead vocalists of 1980s big-hair bands) and stuffed them under her mattress for safekeeping. She is thankful to Dreamspinner Press for providing her with an alternate place to stash her stories.

Mia is proud of her involvement with the Human Rights Campaign and cheers for each and every victory made in the name of marital equality. Her only major regret: never having taken typing or computer class in school, destining her to a life consumed with two-fingered pecking and constant prayer to the Gods of Technology.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Incandescently by Sylvie Parizeau blitz with giveaway


Sylvie Parizeau
Publication date: October 22nd 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romance

LIAM O’SHEA, bestseller author of the SciFi saga, Eiloe.

All I knew was pain – a childhood filled with cruelty and villains who used and abused.

Until Éolie.

I first heard her sweet, angelical voice in the dark of night, when I lay bathed in my own impending death. Seventeen years later, it’s not the nightmare she pulled me out of that haunts me, but the glimpse of Happily Ever After she revealed just before disappearing.

They said she was a figment of my boundless imagination. A wish. A dream. Until I had no choice but to believe them, cherishing my imaginary savior the only way I knew how – in fiction and lore.

But fantasy has a way of transforming reality. When I finally tire of being a citizen of the world, I take an impromptu sabbatical as a professor at a small college on the coast of Maine. And there I see her, the girl with the sea-green eyes and angelic voice.

My world turns upside down. Turns out my girl is for real, and the pull between us is anything but imaginary.

Happily Ever After has a story … and this one is mine.

Goodreads / Amazon

Guest post by Sylvie Parizeau

The overall theme of the Incandescent Series is romantic with a touch of magic and whimsy.

Bonjour !

As you know by now (spoiler alert if you haven’t read my full bio :, I am epilogue obsessive compulsive.

And as Éolie once said to Liam in one of their deleted scenes:

_“Liam, it’s a compulsion. I swear; I start to read fully intending not to skip ahead, but I can’t help it. I need to know how it ends before I can enjoy how the characters get there. I cannot bear anything less than a happy ending. Everyone deserves a happily ever after.”_

Guilty as charged. I am one of those who read the end … right after Chapter One. So by now, you’re either, gasping, cringing, totally scandalized, or smiling in complete accord, depending on which side of that story you stand, non?

But in any case, this obsession of mine is what started my story-telling journey. I can’t tell you how many times I concocted additional scenes in my head every time I got lost in a romance book. What do you mean The End? Noooo. It’s the beginning! Give me the happy!!

And as such, Liam and Éolie’s story, INCANDESCENTLY, book One in the Incandescent Series, holds a very special place in my heart, and I hope it will in yours too come October 22, 2016.

Meanwhile, in heartfelt appreciation for being such an awesome and all-around wonderful blogger, your tribe is among the first ones to enter a chance for a signed paperback copy as well as a signed copy of the map. A journey into the incandescent world of the Forest of Laure where all of my characters find their Happily Ever After, love, cherish, and grow, one story at a time.

So? In the mood to read something romantic with a touch of magic and whimsy? Go ahead. Let yourself loose.


You guys rock my world.

Happy reading!
Sylvie Parizeau, romance novelist @


Author Bio:

A paralegal by day and incurable romantic by night, Sylvie is a cross-genre, and she takes Happily Ever After very seriously. The End just isn’t in her vocabulary.

An incorrigible daydreamer, she now feeds her obsession with epilogues by concocting stories in which heroes deal with the happy from the get-go. Ready, or not. And she confesses under oath to loving every minute of it.

Sylvie lives her own Happily Ever After in the beautiful mountains of Les Laurentides in Northern Quebec, alongside her whole set of characters.

In between treks in their backyard wilderness, you can find them hanging out at

Website / Facebook / Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Bravo: Blood Road by Summer Lane blitz with giveaway


Bravo: Blood Road
Summer Lane
(Bravo Saga, #2)
Publication date: October 21st 2016
Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult

Bravo and his beloved handler, Lieutenant Nathan Ingalls, are together again amidst the ashes of an apocalyptic California. Together, they are using their skills to help a rebel militia group seek out survivors in the desolation of Death Valley.

But when the Death Brigade – a vicious anarchist group arisen from the dust of a fallen society – rolls into town, tragedy strikes. Someone is taken. Neither Nathan nor Bravo will allow that. The hunt is on – Bravo will not fail in his task to protect his friends.

The Black Market.

Rescuing the people you love sometimes comes with a price. When Bravo and his friend, India, are taken to Blood Road, they are forced to fight for their lives in a terrifying and vicious society of gambling, deceit and violent entertainment.

Alone and afraid, Bravo is forced to fight for his life every day in an arena while cruel spectators make bets on the odds of his victory. His only allies in this dark place could perish as suddenly as he could.

The bonds of friendship are tested, and the agonizing teeth of loss sink their fangs deep.

Life or death. Fight or flight. Bravo must choose.

One mission, completed.

One duty, fulfilled.

And now, the Blood Road will wreak its vengeance.

This is the conclusion to Bravo the bomb dog’s thrilling and poignant tale of love, loss and ultimate sacrifice, a #1 bestselling phenomenon.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble


Bravo was there. He heard Danny scream, tasted the sharp jolt of terror heavy in the air. He came straight for him, sailing like a dark bullet through the night. The coyote did not see him coming. Bravo hit him like an arrow, rage pulsing through his body.

How dare this wolf-thing harm Danny! The fury was a tangible thing, flooding through his veins like a wildfire. He bit the coyote below the mouth, in the soft flesh of the neck, where the lifeblood was.

Take away lifeblood, take away life. That was the law of the fight. Bravo had learned that in the Arena, but it was an unspoken and silently understood fact of instinct. Blood contained life…remove blood, and the enemy would fall.

The coyote yelped and released its hold on Danny. The little boy stumbled backward, crying, while Bravo drug the dog-thing to the ground, holding it there, second by second, as the life drained from it and the hot, salty blood spilled onto his face and stained his fur.

Bravo felt nothing but the storming satisfaction of the bite and the devotion to the kill – the mission. This was his job, to protect Danny at all costs, because Nathan was not here, and because that is what Bravo was: a protector.


Author Bio:

Summer Lane is the #1 bestselling author of 14 novels, including books from the hit Collapse Series, Zero Trilogy and Bravo Saga. She is the owner of WB Publishing and Writing Belle, an online magazine devoted to the art of storytelling. Summer is also an accomplished creative writing teacher and experienced journalist.

She lives in the Central Valley of California with her husband, Scott, where she spends her days writing, teaching and writing some more. Summer loves to visit the mountains (nature rocks!), the beach (Hawaii is heaven) and have hot cups of tea with good friends (tea is always a good idea). She also loves dogs and traveling!

Website / Online Magazine / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Addicted to You (Port Lucia) by Renita Pizzitola


Addicted to You (Port Lucia)Addicted to You by Renita Pizzitola
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Isla Diaz has been friends with Colby Callahan forever but she’s also had a bit of a crush on Colby that has never been pursued. One night the pair find themselves alone as a tropical storm heads into Port Lucia and as they play a few games to pass the time the next thing they know they find themselves in bed together.

After their night together Isla isn’t sure what Colby may think of what happened between them and if this may ruin the friendship they always have shared. Things get a bit weird as neither seems to know how to act around one another. For Isla she’s afraid of losing Colby, for Colby he knows that his brother has liked Isla too and is torn between his own feelings and those for his brother.

Addicted to You was a well written new adult contemporary romance but what held me back from really falling in love with this one was the back and forth or hot and cold that Colby kept showing due to his brother. I think that after you’ve slept with a girl is a little too late to push her towards your brother and I’m sure had he known right away he probably wouldn’t of been happy with it either.

I did enjoy the writing in this one along with the characters being long time friends. And I even wouldn’t mind the story being around the somewhat awkwardness of two friends not knowing how to handle being more or holding onto their friendship. I would definitely grab another read from this author that just maybe wouldn’t have the sibling connection going on.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

The Hitman’s Possession by Tia Lewis blitz with giveaway


The Hitman’s Possession
Tia Lewis
(A Bad Boy Mafia Romance, #1)
Publication date: October 19th 2016
Genres: Dark Hitman Romance

I’m a hard, ruthless, and brutal killer… but I’m not letting her go.

I’m the most feared man in South Boston. I’ve earned that title and the nickname “The Animal.” Women may think it’s because I’m wild in bed, and one night with me and they’d f*cking know it.

But there’s a darker reason for my reputation… I think nothing about ending a life. Feelings are a luxury I can’t afford.

Until her.

I hear Tess cry for help and I give into the urge to help her. One look at her and I knew I had to risk it all to rescue her. I’m no knight in shining armor; I’m saving her so I can keep the sexy spitfire for myself.

But the mob wants her back. She wasn’t meant to live through that night.

No f*cking way I’m going to let that happen. Tess ignites a fire within me like nothing I’ve ever known. Her legs are meant to be wrapped around me, and only me. I’ll take on the whole Russian mob ―hell, the whole world―to keep the one woman who’s meant to belong to me.

I’ll kill every bastard that tries to take her away. She can try to run, but she’s not getting away from this hitman. She’s my possession now.


The Hitman’s Possession is a full-length dark romance novel that’s intended for mature audiences only. This novel address issues of a serious nature, including violence surrounding the nature of consent. This novel contains very disturbing situations, graphic language and violence and explicit sexual content. Reader discretion is strongly advised.

Goodreads / Amazon

quote1 availablenowsquare

Author Bio:

Tia Lewis is a romance author from the Midwest who writes about smart, sexy, sassy women and hot, possessive alpha males. Her favorite bad boys to write about include sports players, mafia, bikers, billionaires and the bad-ass next door. You can find her cooking, reading, or traveling when she’s not busy working on her next release.

Want to be kept up to date on new releases? Text LEWIS to 31996!

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Newsletter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Soul Keeper Series by L.A. Starkey blitz with giveaway


Soul Keeper Series Box Set
L.A. Starkey
Publication date: March 10th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Amazon readers had a hard time putting this series down… you will to. Now you don’t have to wait – the full story is yours for a discounted price.

This boxed set includes all three full-length novels from Starkey’s beloved Soul Keeper Series. That’s over 800 pages of intense twists and emotional turns, heart-breaking romance and soul-shattering deception – all in one series.

In a battle of wills,

of the gods of old.

For each his revenge,

will he forfeit his soul.

On the chessboard of blood,

will their narrative play.

Aged, innocent lives,

revenge claims her way.

Out of hate will come love,

and love will come hate.

For immortal and man,

have entwined their damned fate.

The battle between the Titans and the gods of old did not end with them. The demand for revenge has dripped down into the next generation.

Twins, Marcus and Nicolas, heirs to the throne of the gods and sons of the last remaining Titan, learn that the purpose of their existence is to fulfill a prophecy born of hate and despair. They must battle for Pandora’s daughter’s heart, a girl lost to the human world and unaware of her hidden heritage. For four hundred years Marcus and Nicolas have only been allowed to touch the edge of their soul mate’s dreams, but the time of the prophecy has come.

For Samantha, life has been nothing more than a series of misfortunes and heartbreaks. For years, she has kept her heart locked away, but change is rolling in like a tidal wave. She is now forced to discern the thin line between love and lie, myth and reality, and it would seem that time is running out …

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / GooglePlay

Grab for 99¢ this week only!


There was no moving in this moment. Her body afforded her no such luxury, as swirling white mist covered the soft green grass, giving the world an ethereal appearance. Crimson danced against the golden sky as the evening moved in quickly, hoping to make way for its dark lover.

Sam gazed around her, trying to make sense of the familiarity she felt with her setting, but she failed to hold onto the fleeting memory. The soft crunch of grass moving changed everything as realization dawned—she was no longer alone.

Her dark sapphire eyes narrowed, brow creasing as a figure cut through the dense, chalky air. He towered over her by a head or two, and judging by the large expanse of his shoulders, he often left the gym stained in his scent. As his shape continued to gain clarity, from color and size to the defined lines of a life well lived, the swell of anticipation grew within her at the story his facial features might tell.

As he drew close enough for focus, her jaw slackened and her eyes widened with wonder. He was for all intents and purposes a teenager, and yet by his exotic appearance, she guessed him to be a foreigner. Wherever he was from, he was simply beautiful.

He stopped just before her, his gaze locked on hers, and try though she may words escaped her cry for assistance. His piercing jade eyes bore into her, dark orange rays stretching lazily from the iris, his skin seeming to glitter as if kissed by the sun.

“I’ve been waiting for you.”

“For me?” Sam blinked in surprise, taking a hesitant step back.

“Ah, Samantha,” he breathed out, his brow creasing ever so slightly. “Same questions every time, my love. Shall I give you the same answers?”

“W-what a-answers?” She shook her head, attempting to draw in a breath that wasn’t filled with the smell of pure male.

There would be no relaxing in front of him for something was so very familiar and yet alarming to all of her protective senses. Brick by brick, her heart constructed a thick wall that would promise protection. He took a step forward and reached for her hand, but was a bit too late to infiltrate her senses as the wall was up and impenetrable.

She exhaled softly as their skin connected and instinctively let her fingers wrap around his as a sign of friendship. The warmth of his touch sent tingles racing along the corridors of her body and yet still the cold loneliness remained because she demanded it so. No one would ever penetrate her defenses again. Self-preservation had become her lifelong companion simply because life required such company.

Author Bio:

L.A. Starkey is the author of the Soul Keeper Series, a supernatural young adult series, and The Liarus Detective Series, a supernatural middle grade series.

She is a fulltime writer, and loves spending time with her family and reading a good book. With more ideas than one person should be allowed, she is blessed to have a muse that doesn’t seem to take a vacation and more energy that one might consider healthy.

She writes under the following pen name:
Kate Thomas – NA/Adult Paranormal (

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / BookBub / Insider’s Group

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Skye by Kimberly Loth blitz with giveaway


Kimberly Loth
(The Dragon Kings, #4)
Publication date: October 19th 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult

Rowan Winters is completely in love. With a shifter dragon.

But the drop-dead gorgeous Skye only thinks of Rowan as her best friend. But when she turns up in his room in the middle of the night in tears, he yearns to do whatever he can to help her. Even if that means running away and letting his family think he’s dead.

Skye’s entire world turns upside down the day her scales turns black. She knows she’ll have to flee to find answers. But she wasn’t planning on Rowan coming too. She just wanted to say goodbye. He is so eager to help that she can’t leave him behind even though she knows she’ll never be able to love him in return.

Together, they fight off murderous dragons and uncover sinister plans. But can they find the answers Skye so desperately seeks? And can Rowan sacrifice everything he knows to win her heart?

Goodreads / Amazon


Skye was a coward. She knew that, but she couldn’t bring herself to stay and watch Sid and Aspen commit suicide. There was no way the council would allow Aspen to become queen.

Not to mention that then Skye would have to know the exact moment when she died, because anyone who pledged loyalty to Sid would die the second he did. No, running away was better. She should have enough time to get to her parents before death came. She’d able to say goodbye.

This was her fault. Pearl had told her to keep Aspen safe. Instead she’d gone and made everything worse. Maybe if she’d kept Aspen at home, Sid would’ve been fine.

If she’d never given Sid that damn loyalty seal, she wouldn’t be this close to death. She wasn’t sure what she was thinking at that time. Part of her thought he’d make it.

Another part didn’t care whether she lived or died. It wasn’t like she’d have much of a life anymore.

When Sid became King she found Everett and begged him to remove the seal that marked how much she loved him. He did and now she longer had a swirl of gold on her ankle. But Everett warned her there would be a price to pay. She gladly paid it at the time, but but she hadn’t expected to feel so empty.

For a half second she thought about heading to Everett’s instead of her parents. Maybe he could remove the loyalty seal before she died. She shook her head. How cowardly of her. The price would not be worth it. That was for sure.

She was only fooling herself though. She would make the same decision if given the choice. Aspen was the only way they could possibly survive. When Skye dropped Aspen off , there were three possible outcomes. One, she and Sid would die and all those with loyalty seals would as well. Two, Helios, the final dragon that Sid needed to secure all the loyalty seals got to him before the council had a chance to killed him. Or three. Aspen could be become queen. She’d have to convince the council that she should be queen and pass the queen’s tests She hoped Aspen could do it.

She felt her wings tiring. This could be the beginning of her death. She hadn’t known anyone who had died because of the loyalty seal and didn’t know how it worked. She spotted a lake below her and decided to stop and get a drink. She had to make it home.

Skye landed a little rougher than normal. This had to be the end. She staggered over to the water and took a deep drink. The water sparkled under the full moon. Skye stretched her wings out and swiveled her neck around to scratch her nose. She froze. Her wing was no longer silver.

This must be part of her death. Or at least that was what she tried to convince herself of. Adrenaline coursed through her veins and she no longer felt tired. Dragons didn’t change color before they died. In fact dragons never changed color. Except when they became king. Then they turned black.

Skye spun neck around the other direction. It was more than her wings that had changed. Her whole body was now a deep coal black.

This was impossible. There was no way she could become king. Sid was king. Unless he died. Then someone else would take his place, but that someone had to be a full royal dragon and male. Of which she was neither. There had to be some huge mistake. This had to be a dream. She stuck her head in the cold water and came out again. Still black. This wasn’t possible.


That stupid prophecy.

The one that said three kings would rise. The one that said they could come from other races. But she was still female. Something was definitely wrong. She was also still very much alive. She couldn’t go see her parents now, not like this. No, she had to go see the one dragon who could explain how this happened.

She wracked her brain trying to think of everything she’d learned about the prophecy. She loved history and so she studied a lot, but this baffled her. Nothing in the prophecy said anything about a girl. She’d spent hours listening to Everett’s boring details about the prophecy, yet he hadn’t mentioned that females could become kings. He was so in for it.

Author Bio:

Kimberly Loth can’t decide where she wants to settle down. She’s lived in Michigan, Illinois, Missouri, Utah, California, Oregon, and South Carolina.

She finally decided to make the leap and leave the U.S. behind for a few years. After living in Cairo, Egypt for 2 years, she’s decided to go to the Far East and currently calls Shenzhen, China home. She loves romantic movies, chocolate, roses, and crazy adventures.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Cover Reveal: Kon by Lisa Cardiff


Lisa Cardiff
(Trassato Crime Family #2)
Published by: Limitless Publishing
Publication date: November 1st 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Once upon a time, I was the woman you envied. I had it all. A wonderful family. The perfect fiancé who also happened to be my best friend. Money and resources. The power and influence that came with sharing the Trassato name.

One night my fairytale became a nightmare, and I’ve been living in Hell ever since. A rival family killed my fiancé. My father succumbed to cancer. In the middle of it all, I bargained away my future to Konstantin Trincher, a member of the Russian mafia. It seemed like the perfect solution at the time—my brother’s girlfriend in exchange for me.

Only things weren’t that simple. I promised myself to Konstantin and my family promised me to Nico DeAngelo, the underboss of the Trassato Crime Family.

Konstantin and I form an alliance to unravel our bargain. The only problem? We didn’t expect to fall for each other in the process. Now I’m forced to choose between love and loyalty. One choice will break my heart and the other will break my family.

Add to Goodreads

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000447_00006]
**Designed by Deranged Doctor Design**

Author Bio:

After spending years practicing law and a million other things, Lisa decided to pursue her dream of becoming a writer and she must confess that inventing characters is so much more fun than writing contracts and legal briefs. A native of Colorado, she lives with her husband and three children in Denver.

Subscribe to my newsletter for giveaways and deleted scenes:

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter