Stolas by Randi Cooley Wilson blitz with giveaway

Standard

Stolas
Randi Cooley Wilson
(Dark Soul, #1)
Publication date: May 22nd 2017
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal

An ancient legend draws them together.

His dark soul will tear them apart.

Sometimes the only fairytales that exist are the dark ones.

For the past two years, Hope Annandale has fought to hold onto her sanity. Plagued by voices and visions, she struggles to understand what’s real, and what’s an illusion. As the lines between reality and hallucination blur, Hope discovers things that shouldn’t be real, suddenly exist. When Hope’s world falls apart, figuring out the secrets of her past becomes a matter of life and death. And the only one who can save her is the dangerously attractive demon prince, who is bound by an ancient legacy to betray her. The fate Stone has fought to escape is here. With destiny on one side, and desire on the other, Stone must protect Hope from the one thing he can’t hide from, his birthright.

What if the one person you were meant to be with could never be yours? Stolas, the first novel in the Dark Soul series is a riveting tale of passion, danger and forbidden love. Intended for mature readers 18+ due to language, violence, sexual situations and dark themes.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Dark thoughts loom in the back of my mind as I hover over this mortal. As much as she intrigues me, my frustration with her for trussing me to this self-imposed protection

detail is festering. I’m programmed to despise human and divine life, not bind myself to it.

“I’m the prince of darkness, sweetheart, not a bodyguard,” I whisper into the night, and brush the hair away from her face, wanting to feel her soft skin against my fingers.

I’d allowed my temper and frustration with the archangel to get the best of me, tethering myself to this oracle. A mortal with a divine soul. One my father wants to use for his own selfish revenge. The dull irony is that I’ve vowed to safeguard her from the one thing I will never be able to protect her from—my own birthright.

I move away from her, even though it’s the last thing I want to do, and take a seat in the chair facing her bed. I should have made her leave last night, but it doesn’t matter now. I couldn’t stay away from her any longer. Vassago wouldn’t allow it.

She is my mission. She has chosen her fate. And I’m bound to save her from the one thing I can’t protect her from—my dark soul.


Author Bio:

Randi Cooley Wilson is the bestselling author of The Revelation Series, The Royal Protector Academy Novels, The Dark Soul Trilogy, and “Covetousness” a Havenwood Falls Novella. She resides in Massachusetts with her husband and daughter.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Advertisements

A Hummingbird Christmas (Glacier Creek Book 1) by Karen Foley

Standard

A Hummingbird Christmas (Glacier Creek Book 1)A Hummingbird Christmas by Karen Foley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Joy Holliday is way too young to be a widow but unfortunately she lost her firefighter husband, Matt, just after they’d started their lives together leaving her alone to raise their baby girl, Piper. Piper is now five and Joy wants to make this a Christmas she’ll never forget which includes giving her the wish of a white Christmas. Joy and Piper have lived in California since Matt’s passing but Joy believes this Christmas they should visit Matt’s parents in Glacier Creek, Montana.

Cole Tanner was like a brother to Matt having been abandoned at a young age by his own father and then raised by Matt’s parents. He’s a bit resentful of Joy since she had taken Matt away to California and as much as he’s wants to dislike her as soon as he meets Joy and Piper he can’t help but melt. Cole volunteers to show Joy and Piper the sights of the small town and the more time he spends with them the less he can see them walking back out of his life.

A Hummingbird Christmas by Karen Foley seems to be the first book in a new contemporary romance series, Glacier Creek. This first book held all those wonderful things I love from a small town holiday romance being set in this lovely town. There were special events and wonderful residents in this small town that made the Christmas magic just pop out from the pages of this lovely read.

I would warn that the romance within this book is one that happens at a fairly quick pace in the days leading up to the Christmas holiday. This didn’t bother me too much because it wasn’t an “instant” connection but one that built between the pair coming from their common loss and having that in common along with the joy of young Piper and making a magical holiday for her. I’m always a sucker for a young child fitting into a new relationship so it wasn’t a surprise that I loved this one.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Cover Reveal: Blood Courtesans: Awakenings by Boxed Set

Standard

Blood Courtesans: Awakenings
Publication date: January 17th 2017
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Darkly decadent and sinfully sensual.

Enter a world where vampires are real, rich, hungry and meet the women who become their blood courtesans. Come let the fangs slip into your blood and awaken you to a whole new life. A boxed set of NEW stories in this popular series.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win here!

XBTBanner1

Wicked Fallout by Kelly Charron blitz with giveaway

Standard

 

Wicked Fallout
Kelly Charron
(Pretty Wicked #2)
Publication date: July 17th 2017
Genres: Adult, Thriller

“Wicked Fallout is a twisty cat and mouse psychological thriller that will keep you turning pages right up to the unexpected end. A creepy mix of horror and psychological insight, Charron takes you into the mind of a killer and doesn’t let go.”

~Eileen Cook, Author of WITH MALICE

Convicted of six murders when she was just fifteen, the notorious Ryann Wilkanson hasn’t been able to act on her darkest, deadliest urges for twelve years. She’s exhausted her appeals and has little hope of ever getting out of prison and back to hunting.

Until a media-hungry legal team mounts a campaign to do the impossible—get her immediately released with a commuted sentence.

Forensic psychiatrist Nancy Clafin has mere weeks to evaluate Ryann’s current mental state against her grisly past to determine if she’s changed. But under the shadow of her own questionable history, it’s not easy to separate her personal life from her professional duty.

At least that’s what Ryann is counting on.

Behind the cold steel doors of a Colorado maximum-security prison, will Nancy find a cold-blooded killer or a newly redeemed woman determined to right her past wrongs?

**This novel can be enjoyed as a standalone or as part of the Pretty Wicked series.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

EXCERPT:

I spin around and see two women rolling on the ground, hair flying. Fights are a pretty rare occurrence, but when they happen it’s nasty. I once read that men fight to injure, but women fight to kill.

Sounds accurate.

The women roll closer to our table, and we all jerk out of the way in case some of the action heads toward us. I can hardly see who it is, but Georgina is quick to say it’s Roxie and Jinx. And they are going at each other: hands whacking, hair pulling, face slapping, and rib kicking. The whole nine. But it doesn’t go on for too long. Two guards descend on them, yanking the women apart. Some damage is already done. Jinx has a bloody nose and a swelling eye, and Roxie’s lip is split open.

“Fuck, man. Did you see that? Roxie almost killed the bitch! Bam!” Margot slams her hand on the table and my head rings. Jodi laughs. Must be nice for her to sit back and chuckle, since she’s never actually fought in here.

“Enough, Margot, or the guards are gonna be over here next.” Steph eyes her and Margot settles down.

The cafeteria is returning to normal so we sit again, and I try to force a spoonful of my cold, lumpy lunch down. It takes all my concentration to swallow the disgusting mouthful. My stomach clenches, so I drop my spoon.

“No offense, princess, but you look like shit,” Georgina says in between shovels. She’s a fat pig. No matter how disgusting the food is in here, don’t take your eyes off your plate or it’ll be in her goddamn mouth before you know what’s happening.

I lock my gaze on her. “Thanks. Just giving you a chance to feel a bit better about your ugly ass.”

She shoots me the finger.

“Seriously, you look pale, like even more than normal,” Stephanie chimes in, sounding far too motherly for my liking.

I smile. “Thanks, ladies. You sure are the fucking cheer committee today.”

“This shrink is really taking the piss outta you, huh? I ain’t never seen you so frazzled before,” Jodi says.

“I’m just tired. Been sleeping like shit, the food is inedible, and yes, talking in circles about your feelings is agony. So I’m taking donations—any booze, pills, or weed is welcome.” Most of what I say is bravado. Keeping up appearances is key to survival in this hellhole. I can’t afford to get caught with any contraband in case a miracle happens and I have a chance of getting out. What a kick in the tit that would be, if I got approved only to have a stupid joint found in my bunk.

“We’re all suffering in here, princess, so buck up.” Georgina braces her gigantic noggin on top of her propped arms.

It takes all my strength to stay calm. Sometimes people in here forget what I’m capable of. Maybe some of them don’t believe in my history and are willing to take a chance by coming at me.

Too bad I’m on my best behavior.

Margot puts a hand in Georgina’s face. “Lay off her, Gina. Ain’t none of us know what being examined under a microscope like that feels like. I know I’d be stressed to fucking shit if my whole future relied on talking to one damn bitch for a couple of weeks.”

“Thanks, Margot, but you don’t have to defend me.”

“Yeah, princess is a big girl. She can take care of herself, or so she wants us to think.”

I glower at her and swallow the scream that threatens to explode out of me. I’m afraid if I release it, I’ll never stop. “You got something to say?” I sit on my hands. Just in case I’m a little too tempted to gouge her eyes out.

Georgina stands up from her spot at the table across from me and walks around to my side. “Actually, yeah. I think you’re a fucking weak-ass bitch who ain’t no one afraid of in here, especially not me. You walk around all high and mighty, thinking you’re better than us, smarter and prettier than us, but guess what—you in here just like the fucking rest of us, and I ain’t scared by your supposed past.” She makes finger quotations an inch from my face.

I stand. We’re eye to eye. I can feel her hot, stinky breath on my face. Her finger jabs me in the chest. My blood fills my ears and I can’t hear much past the intense rushing. I clench my fists at my sides. Ready. I want her to come at me so badly. “Is that so? You gonna do something about it then?” I say, smacking her finger away from me. My eyes narrow on her acne-scarred face.

Before I can register what’s happening, I feel her two bony hands dig into my chest. The air is pushed out and I gasp. My legs tremble. Teeth clench.

It only takes me a second to leap onto her. Her fingers are entwined in my hair and I can feel the pressure as she yanks. I elbow her, and she lets go. The top of my hand swings across her cheek and I hear a loud slapping sound. Her head flies back, her arms wave wildly as she tries to grab a hold of me, but my adrenaline is pumping so hard that I don’t feel anything. My hands find their way to her neck. I squeeze and squeeze. Teeth gritting.

The power of my fingers pressing into the flesh of her neck makes me shiver with excitement. It feels like I can breathe for the first time since that day in the library all those years ago.

I have tunnel vision. I only see her eyes rolling back and her mouth attempting to suck in air. My heartbeat increases in my ears. Thump. Thump. Thump. My hands and wrists must be aching, but I don’t feel them.

Her arms keep flailing. Her fingers attempt to dig at my face. I don’t feel that either, I just keep pressing my hands into her. Squeezing. I wonder how much longer until she dies. I’m tingling all over.

And then I feel hands on me—pulling and yanking me off her. I fight harder, and then so do the hands.

My grasp is broken. I’m being lifted into the air. I’m screaming and swearing. I’m shaking, ferocious with rage. It’s a sensation from a time very long ago, yet it’s so familiar to me.

A man’s gruff voice breaks into my trance. My arms are twisted behind my back where I’m cuffed. Tightly. “That’s enough, Wilkanson! You’re done! You’re done!”

Now that I’m off her, I realize in a sobering moment that he might not be talking about just the fight. A hurtling wave of nausea makes my stomach twist and my mouth water.

I may have just ruined any chance I ever had to get out of here.

***

I’m whisked away by two guards who throw me into solitary.

They aren’t gentle with me as they literally launch me inside the room. I’ve never been in here before, but I’ve heard enough horror stories to know I never wanted to see it. I land on the ground with a thud. My bones vibrate from the motion. My arms are sore and bruised above my elbows where I was manhandled.

“I got to say, I’m surprised to see you in here, Wilkanson. There goes your perfect record. Was it worth it?” The guard, Han, shakes his head. He looks like a disappointed daddy and not some guy who’s getting underpaid to deal with us lowlifes.

I remain quiet, as is my right. It’s about the only thing I can control in here.

The other guard that has kindly accompanied me to the hole is Rickers. Unlike Han, has a smug smile on his face, like he’s been waiting for this moment with a lousy fifty bucks riding on it.

Han spins me around and unlocks the handcuffs. My wrists are sore from being forced into the cold, hard metal. I rub them, trying to get the circulation back into my hands. My brain finally registers where I am as I look around the closet-sized room. There’s nothing in here but a sweat- stained pad on the floor and a disgusting dirty blanket that I wouldn’t touch for fear of contracting scabies or countless other contagious diseases.

“Someone will be in later to bring you to your hearing. Do you want anyone else there with you?” Rickers asks.

“What do you mean? I don’t understand what’s happening,” I say, and it’s the truth. I’ve never committed an offense before. My anger has dwindled, and I’m left in a state of confusion and shock. My body trembles. I can even feel my ribs shaking. What did I fucking do?

Han stands tall, shoulders squared, with his hand on his baton. He looks like he’s ready to take down a linebacker and not some hundred-and-ten-pound chick. “You’ll be taken in to see an adjudicator. You can bring in witnesses if you think it’ll help your case. You’ll tell them what happened and plead guilty or not guilty of the offense—in this case, assaulting a fellow inmate.”

“But Georgina started it. She hit me first!” Ugh. I hear the pitiful whine in my voice and I wonder how I suddenly became a petulant child. I need to get my shit together before the hearing if I have any hope in hell of being taken seriously. “Can you ask Stephanie Harvey and Jodi Brown to come? They were there.”

“We’ll see what we can do,” Han says.

“So what, I have to stay in here until then? How long does this hearing take to set up?” I ask. My palms are slick, and I wipe them on the thighs of my pants.

“It could be a few hours.”

“Oh, great,” I exhale, relieved.

“Or it could be tomorrow,” Rickers adds.

My eyes and mouth widen. “What? You mean to tell me that I could be stuck in this hell

hole overnight?” My mind reels. My bunk is shitty, but it’s the Westin compared to this hovel. “That’s right.” Rickers smiles. “Shoulda thought about that before you tried to kill someone in here.” He walks out with Han right behind him.

My hand goes up and I wave for them to stop. “No, wait. You can’t leave me.”

Han takes another step away. “I’m afraid we can, and just in case we’re not back today, sleep tight.” The hefty steel door slams shut. The sound reverberates, echoing

painfully in my ears. I’m dizzy. The walls look like they’re getting closer. The air is cold and stale. My stomach turns over.

Think, Ryann. Lunch was served at one o’clock. The fight happened just after, which puts it around two. There’s got to be enough time to get a judge or adjudicator to see me. What if the warden won’t let Steph and Jodi out to testify for me?

I need water. My mouth is so dry.

Surely someone will come soon. In twelve years at this prison, I’ve never so much as hid a candy bar I wasn’t supposed to have. I don’t deserve this.

Fighting is a major infraction. Georgina wanted this. This was probably her fucking plan the entire time.

What the fuck did I do?

 

Author Bio:

Kelly Charron is the author of YA and adult horror, psychological thrillers and urban fantasy novels. All with gritty, murderous inclinations and some moderate amounts of humor. She spends far too much time consuming true crime television (and chocolate) while trying to decide if yes, it was the husband, with the wrench, in the library. She lives with her husband and cat, Moo Moo, in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

XBTBanner1

Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them by Debra Goelz blitz with giveaway

Standard

Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them
Debra Goelz
Published by: Hachette Audiobooks
Publication date: October 17th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Sixteen-year-old Waverly Fishwater believes that people who act suspicious are asking for her to spy on them. When she eavesdrops on one of her dad’s clandestine meetings, she learns that mermaids are being abducted. Fearing no one else will save them, Waverly swaps her tail for legs and heads to the site of the disappearances, but it doesn’t go as planned. After exposing mermaidkind to humanity, Waverly has to come to terms with leaving the home, friends, and school she loves. For her safety, she must go to a remote boarding school on the California coast.

Waverly discovers her new classmates are from a multitude of supernatural species, including werewolves, fairies, and minor Greek gods. But the bigger problem might be all the mermaid-blood loving vampires, and the fact that the most infuriating one has taken an interest in her already.

She must navigate this weird new world where her class schedule includes time-traveling history, fairy dance, interspecies biology, and sand-sculpting vain gods with rock-hard abs. The biggest letdown is that she still has to take algebra, even though polynomials are not her friends.

Just when she’s starting to fit in, she begins to unravel a dark plot that could destroy the bayside school and the oceans beyond. As she gets close to solving the mystery, the mernapper takes hold of her mind and hides the clues that will piece it together. Waverly is left with the knowledge of one thing: she’s next.

If Waverly is to expose the scheme and take out the mastermind, she’s going to have to rely on the most dubious kind of help-reckless gods, single-minded werewolves, and virtuous fairies. To avoid a supernatural catastrophe, Waverly must rally this eccentric band of heroes, learning to rely on the help of others in order to stay afloat.

Goodreads / Audible / Audiobookstore

Listen to an audio sample here!


Author Bio:

Debra Goelz is a refugee from Hollywood where she served for ten years as a financial executive for such companies as Universal Pictures, Dino de Laurentiis and Jim Henson Productions. Her performing career began and ended with her puppeteering a chicken during the closing scene in “Muppet Treasure Island.” After garnering over 9 million on-line reads, her award-winning YA fantasy, “Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them,” will be published by Hachette audio on October 17, 2017. She lives in a redwood forest in rural Marin County with her husband. Her two children have abandoned her to seek a college education in New York.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Poison by Galt Niederhoffer

Standard

PoisonPoison by Galt Niederhoffer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When Cass was left on her on raising her two young children she thought the dream of a perfect family life with a loving husband was quite out of her reach, that is until she met Ryan. Ryan was unlike other men that Cass had known when he didn’t run away from the mere thought of her young children and instead proposed marriage and having more of their own someday. The two came together and formed the perfect little family and eventually did have a third baby added to their lives.

After their family expanded Cass and Ryan bought a fixer upper of a home to grow into with their children and with the two working and raising their family everything looked picture perfect for them. Things slowly began to do downhill for Cass though when she would find evidence that maybe, just maybe her husband might not be fully invested in their charming little family. Instead of denying though Ryan would always turn the tables onto Cass until on drunken night he let it slip that he would kill her.

Poison by Galt Niederhoffer is a psychological thriller that was a tad different than most. This story lacks the usual twists and turns and keeping a reader guessing at who done it with the fact that there really could only be two outcomes, either Ryan poisoned his wife or he didn’t. But with knowing from early on it was an either or situation the story still gives the reader plenty to follow along as it unfolds and has built a much bigger message into the book.

What this book has done is fit into it the idea of our society being one that immediately questions victims of crimes and turns the tables onto them instead of the accused. In this story it’s a matter of poisoning but that could be replaced with numerous other crimes that are suffered every day in society. Victims of rape or abuse for instance could really be living Cass’ entire roller coaster ride as she brought the allegations up in the story. This deeper message of victim shaming or blaming is one that society deals with daily and that is what made this one an intense ride while waiting for the answer in the end.

Cass was the perfectly flawed character that she needed to be to make this story work and keep readers guessing all throughout. From one moment to the next I had no clue whether to trust her narrative or to question her side of the events being given in the story. That is exactly what the author seemed to be going for with the deeper meaning to the book and it was done wonderfully in my opinion. In the end I’d definitely recommend checking this one out.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Voodoo Angel by Erin Hayes blitz with giveaway

Standard

 

 

 

Voodoo Angel
Erin Hayes
Publication date: December 26th 2017
Genres: Adult, Fantasy

Ruled by a demon. Bound by a curse.

Life in the new Big Easy is hard.

In the sunken ruins of New Orleans, everyone has been cursed to a life of protecting their bakas—talismans that hold pieces of their souls. That is if a person can find theirs. If a baka is destroyed before it’s located, the owner dies too.

Lost without hers, the fallen angel Nadège has been desperately searching for her baka while trying to stay hidden in this hellhole. With it, she’ll have access to her full angelic powers and the ability to break the curse. But without it, she’s at the curse’s mercy like everyone else.

Meanwhile, the witch doctor Emmanuel has been trying to escape his demons—literally. The last thing he needs is the Voodoo Angel on his trail, but that’s exactly what happens.

When Nadège learns the terrible truth about her baka’s connection to Emmanuel, there’s nothing she won’t do to break the curse. Even if that means killing the one man whose love could save her.

Pre-order

Pre-order today for only 99c!

Erin traveled to New Orleans to research this book, where she went to the Voodoo Museum:

 

Author Bio:

Sci-fi junkie, video game nerd, and wannabe manga artist Erin Hayes writes a lot of things. Sometimes she writes books.

She works as an advertising copywriter by day, and she’s an award-winning New York Times Bestselling Author by night. She has lived in New Zealand, Hawaii, Texas, Alabama, and now San Francisco with her husband, cat, and a growing collection of geek paraphernalia.
You can reach her at erinhayesbooks@gmail.com and she’ll be happy to chat. Especially if you want to debate Star Wars.

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Street Team / Newsletter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Cover Reveal: Damaged by Krys Fenner

Standard

Damaged
Krys Fenner
(Dark Road Series, #2)
Publication date: November 20th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Hope springs eternal for everyone except Bella Kynaston. She survived the rape, but the aftermath is a whole other story. She struggles to figure out who she really is as more truths are revealed about her heritage. With no real anchor, sometimes ending it all seems like the only way out.

David has loved Bella for three years. Too bad he feels as if he no longer deserves a chance with her. Much to his surprise that’s exactly what he gets, but she’s far more damaged than he ever imagined. Still, he’ll do anything to help her even if it means losing himself in the process. Any transgression can be forgiven. Or so he thinks.

Will Bella find the peace she so desperately seeks if the pain permanently ended? Is there someone who can get to her in time? Or will the damage she’s suffered prove too much to bear?

Add to Goodreads

Sequel to:

Author Bio:

Krys Fenner has been infinitely passionate about writing and helping people for as long as she can remember. To date, she has published two books, numerous poems, and is now avidly working on a fantasy series. Krys received an Associate of Arts in Psychology and is currently working on her B.A.

To find out more about Krys Fenner and her upcoming book releases, visit her official website: http://www.krysfenner.co

Website / Goodreads / Facebook

XBTBanner1

 

Other Worlds Collection blitz with giveaway

Standard

Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance
Publication date: October 17th 2017
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction

Journey into a multiverse beyond the boundaries of your imagination…

21 award-winning and best-selling authors bring you the best of PARANORMAL and SCI-FI ROMANCE in this enticing boxed set of exclusive epic adventures.

Rogue spaceship captains, dark vampire lords, supernatural hunters, crafty hackers, uncompromising alien alphas, fearless shifters, and MORE await in this highly sought-after collection including BRAND NEW romantic, otherworldly tales!

Step into OTHER WORLDS as these fresh voices of SFR and PNR take you on a journey to immortal realms and extraterrestrial territories where your imagination takes flight and fantasies come to life.

PreOrder now to secure YOUR copy of this limited edition Sci-Fi Romance and Paranormal Romance collection!

INCLUDING STORIES FROM…

Allyson Lindt

Award-Winning author A.D. Trosper

Cheri Schmidt and Tristan Hunt

Akaria Gale

Award-Winning author R. A. Steffan

Jennifer Rose McMahon

Award-Winning author Amy L Gale

Shawnee Small

K. R. Fajardo

Award-Winning author Lea Kirk

Mychal Daniels

Laura Hysell

Shawna Romkey

Elizabeth Ryder

E.A. Weston

Award-Winning author Lindsay Avalon

LaVerne Thompson

Starla Night

Jayne Fury

Isadora Brown

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

Grab yours today for only 99¢!

Facebook Party & weekly prizes ~ From now until October 23 we are giving away weekly gift cards, ebooks, and other swag in the Other Worlds Facebook Party.

Check out Other Worlds online:
Website / Facebook / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Sweet Tea and Sympathy by Molly Harper

Standard

Sweet Tea and SympathySweet Tea and Sympathy by Molly Harper

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

After a huge disaster at her event planning job Margot Cary finds herself jobless and soon to be homeless if she can’t find something quick. But unfortunately for Margot in this day and age the huge catastrophe that happened at her last event has gone viral and all of her prospects are afraid of taking a chance on her so her job hunt hasn’t been going well. Just as things are looking their worst Margot gets contacted by a lady that claims she’s family from Margot’s biological father’s side and she wants Margot for a job in Georgia.

With little options left other than living on the street Margot packs her things and moves from Chicago to Lake Sackett, Georgia to meet her father’s family and take on the task of becoming the planner for the McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop. Yes, her family is in the business of funeral and fishing which is so far out of Margot’s realm it’s unreal. Margot however after moving down to the small town finds herself getting to know relatives she never knew she had and coming to love the small town life including the local principal, Kyle Archer.

Sweet Tea and Sympathy by Molly Harper is the first book in the new Southern Eclectic contemporary romance series. There also seems to be a companion novella already released in the series featuring another couple from Lake Sackett but I haven’t read that one myself but being different main characters it would seem that these would be fine to read as standalone books if a reader chose to do so.

This book had all sorts of little things that I loved about it from the small town charm to reconnecting a family. Meanwhile during all the antics of Margot trying to fit in with this family that she had never known and grown up in a very different environment there was also a budding romance with some cute little girls involved in his family.

My only downside was it sort of rubbed me wrong for Margot to put a lot of blame on her biological father for their being apart when it seemed to be her mother’s doing and as an adult the street went two ways so she could have reconnected herself. In the end though that was a small complaint leaving this one to rate at 4.5 stars and I’ll definitely look for more from this small town.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.