Beck by Maggie Marr blitz with giveaway

Standard

Beck
Maggie Marr
(Hollywood Hitman #1)
Publication date: September 20th 2016
Genres: Adult, Romance

Natalie Warner can’t ignore the risk any longer. A star on the rise, her latest film is on track to be the biggest box office breaker of the summer but Natalie isn’t safe. Someone is after her. Could it be her angry addict father, or her mother who always wanted to be a star herself? What about her ex-boyfriend who just did time? The Studio refuses to ignore the threat and forces Natalie to take on a bodyguard, but that bodyguard comes in the shape of rugged, irresistible Beck Tatum, because whoever is after Natalie isn’t going to stop until someone makes them.

A question, wrapped in a riddle, Beck Tatum doesn’t know what part of the government he worked for before he lost his memory or what exactly his mission was. He can remember that he loved and that he lost that woman as well as his memories on that final mission. Now with a second chance, he’s assigned to protect a high-value asset. Rich and entitled but yet kind and vulnerable, Natalie Warner isn’t the spoiled rich woman Beck expected. But falling for her would put her life on the line and Beck is’t about to lose anything else.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

SNEAK PEEK:

Beck welcomed darkness. The night was a cloak of anonymity that provided him with a freedom the daylight never did. When he chose to be, Beck was soundless in his movements. Swift and stealthy under the cover of night, he could move before anyone knew of his presence. You didn’t get nineteen confirmed kills without embracing silence.

He entered Natalie’s bedroom. Moonlight glanced through the window and shone on her face. Her dark hair lay like liquid night on a pillow. Those perfect lips barely parted.

Her sleep was peaceful. Restful. A thought . . . a memory . . . a moment from before, with Marisol, flashed through Beck’s mind like lightning in a summer sky, then was gone.

Natalie was tough. She might appear like a sexy girly-girl, but with all the treachery she’d endured from her family and friends, she’d developed a thick hide to survive and thrive.

Beck circled the room. Tested the locks on the French doors that led to the balcony. Her room was on the second floor, but if a person was determined they’d find a way to get inside. He scanned the bathroom. Pretty damn swank. Next was the walk-in closet, which was bigger than his last apartment and filled with more shit than one of those fancy-ass high-end department stores.

He circled back to the bedroom and stopped beside Natalie’s bed. She had no reason to trust Beck. All the people in her life had failed her when she’d trusted them. Why would she expect anything different from him?

Because Beck wouldn’t fail. Not again. Not this time.

“What are you doing in my room?”

“My job.”


Author Bio:

Maggie Marr is the author of contemporary romance and women’s fiction. She writes smart, sexy, women and the men they love. She got her start in Hollywood pushing the mail cart at ICM, but quickly rose through the ranks to become a motion picture literary agent. As well as writing, she maintains a boutique legal practice dedicated to the needs of creatives & entrepreneurs. She is the current President of Los Angeles Romance Authors (LARA) and legal adviser to the Women’s Fiction Writers Association (WFWA). Maggie loves all things pop culture and when she isn’t taking care of her clients or writing she can be found reading, chasing kids, or exercising her rescue pup.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Newsletter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Ruin by Clarissa Wild blitz with giveaway

Standard

 

Ruin
Clarissa Wild
Publication date: September 20th 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romance

Maybell Fairweather was the girl of my dreams.

Always smiling brightly, she kept going, despite the names her classmates called her behind her back.

She was full of curiosity and independence, the extent of which I could only be jealous of. Even though she had all odds stacked against her, she knew what she wanted from life and pursued it, no matter the cost.

She was completely my opposite in every way.

Perfect, even though she couldn’t see it.

Perfect … until me.

Because this is the story of how I ruined her.

Based on a true story. Standalone Romance. No cliffhanger.

Goodreads / Amazon

limited-edition-paperback-ruin

EXCERPT:

He winks, and somehow, it makes me blush.

For some reason, it’s hard to look away too.

“What’s your name?” I ask.

“Alexander Wright.”

I smile. “Maybell Fairweather.”

“Hmm … Maybell … nice name.”

“Thanks.” I blush.

I don’t know why or what it is about him, but he has this gentleness about him that soothes me and makes me want to ask him to stay, even if I don’t have a reason for it.

But then I realize it’s not the only reason I’m looking at him.

Something’s felt off since we met, and I couldn’t put my finger on it, but now, I can.

“Wait …” I mutter. “I know you, right?”

“Yeah, I’m that guy who ate a sandwich with you the other day. You don’t remember? Should I call a nurse?” He chuckles.

I roll my eyes. “No. I mean …” I recognize him from somewhere. “I know you from … school, right?”

His eyes suddenly widen, and he slams his lips shut.

HA! I knew he looked familiar. “No way! I knew it.”

The muscles in his face tighten. “Oh, boy.”

“I’ve seen you at school a few times.”

“Really?” he says, scratching the back of his neck.

“Yeah … don’t tell me I’m making this up. I’m not crazy … right?” I pout.

He smiles, his dimples making me wanna pinch his cheeks. “No, you’re not crazy. It’s just a surprise that you’d even recognize me. People usually don’t even see me. I’m invisible.”

“Yeah?” I bite my lip and frown. “Same here.”

He lowers his arm. “No … you’re not invisible at all,” he says, looking at me with half-mast eyes. “I see you. All the time.”

Romantic couple kissing with love and passion

 

Author Bio:

Want to be the first to get your hands on new books & get access to free short stories, giveaway prizes, previews, and more? Sign up here http://eepurl.com/FdY71

Clarissa Wild is a New York Times & USA Today Bestselling author, best known for the dark Romance novel Mr. X. Her novels include the Fierce Series, the Delirious Series, and Stalker. She is also a writer of erotic romance such as the Blissful Series, The Billionaire’s Bet series, and the Enflamed Series. She is an avid reader and writer

of sexy stories about hot men and feisty women. Her other loves include her furry cat friend and learning about different cultures. In her free time she enjoys watching all sorts of movies, reading tons of books and cooking her favorite meals.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Fan Club

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Tell Me You Want Me by Kris Embrey blitz with giveaway

Standard

Tell Me You Want Me
Kris Embrey
Publication date: April 10th 2016
Genres: Adult, Romance

Nineteen-year-old Gina Kelly is used to working hard for everything in life. Despite her challenges, Gina has dreams and one of them is to become an actor. One day when she sees an ad in Playbill for open auditions, she heads to New York where she surprisingly secures the lead role in a Broadway production. But little does she know that acting on Broadway is just the first step in what is about to become an adventurous new life.

The play is ready to end when Gina’s theatre director introduces her to the manager of one of rock’s biggest bands. He is desperate to find a backup singer before the band goes on tour and Gina is thrilled when he hires her. The chemistry between Gina and lead singer, Sebastian Roland, is instantaneous. Unfortunately, Sebastian is a married, pill-popping addict. As the group sets out on an adventure fueled by sex and drugs, Gina quickly falls in love with Sebastian. But when his drug use escalates, Gina is forced to make a decision with the power to change her future once again.

Tell Me You Want Me shares the tale of a young woman’s journey of self-discovery as she follows her dreams to New York, falls in love, and realizes that she is the only one in charge of her destiny.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Chapter 3

Jingle and Belles the Musical

It was audition day, and Bridgette was up and wanted to show me the best way to Times Square. I took her up on the offer. I had no idea where I was going. We headed out and walked forever to midtown as she pointed out to me where all of the cool clubs

were near our neighborhood. An hour later, we had arrived to my audition, and Bridgette said she would be waiting for me at Circle Bar inside the Marquis Hotel and to come over when I was finished.

I followed the direction arrows to the auditions, where I was met by a very precocious and impatient handler, who startled me when he said, “Part? What part?”

I replied to his bitchiness, “Candice.”

He looked me over and with a head-spin and snarky tone said, “Left.” Did I just get my tea leaves read? Yes, I believe I did.

Walking inside the theater, I took a seat and waited to be called, but I noticed how quickly people were being dismissed. I overheard a conversation that was taking place directly behind me about the director, Lex Lenord. My fellow actors were hissing that if they had known he was the director of this shit production they would have opted to try out for Pigeon the Musical: The Life of a Lonely Bird. Apparently that must have been some encrypted theater sarcasm because I had never heard of that production, but it was apparent from the conversation taking place that Lex had a reputation of being harsh. Stories were spilling about cast members being pitted against each other and Lex referring to actors as children. Seems Lex was also known for tantrums that included dialogue from films. I thought that might add some color to the rehearsals, and I happened to like overdone tirades; they can prove to be entertaining, if executed well, especially when you’re bored. Lex apparently enjoyed the company of young, pretty boys, full of sass and attitude, as his assistants, as one of my fellow actors was discussing.

Lex’s assistant Carl, who was seated next him, said, “Gloria Smith for the part of Candice, you’re next.”

Lex upon looking at her said, “Thank you, next!”

This guy was tough. That poor girl didn’t even open her mouth. Everything came down to this flamboyant man yelling the word next to me. I was thinking this might be all for nothing and my parents were going to expect me to come home if I didn’t get the part and that was not on my shit-to-do list for the day. As I was pondering all of the scenarios in my head—having some fabulous cocktails tonight in the city or being put back on a plane and sent back home—nerves had taken over when I heard my name called,

“Gina Kelly for the role of Candice,” Carl called out,

I stood up and took a spot directly in front of Lex.

In the back of my mind as I looked at Lex, I said to myself, Fuck home; there is no place like New York and started my lines.

I continued with my audition and noticed the producer of the play leaned into Lex, and they were talking and taking notes, appearing to not be listening. Lex paused me and inquired why I wasn’t auditioning for the role of Belle. I explained to him that I had understudied the role of Candice for the last two years. Lex looked up at me, and very uninterested in what I was saying, he instructed me to take a seat and wait.

“Thank you, sir,” I said, before sitting with the rest of my fellow actors.

Lex made an announcement of the people he wanted to stay for the role of Belle, “Molly Cartwright and Gina Kelly.”

I thought, He must have this mixed up. I didn’t try out for that role.

Molly and I got up and went to face him. I thought to myself, Door number one, we have some lovely cocktails for you, Gina, or will it be door number two? The one-way coach ticket and no cocktails on your way back home to your pathetic life? Which one will it be, Lex?

“Molly Cartwright in the lead of Belle. Gina Kelly, you will understudy Molly,” he said in a very blank tone, and people started clapping.

It wasn’t the applause one might hear at a U2 concert. No, it was more like polite golf claps, but I didn’t care. I had door number one and cocktails coming to me that night. I had managed to secure a nice paycheck in the safety net position of the top spot. Lex informed Molly and me that rehearsals started Wednesday at nine sharp and to call Equity Union office and then go see Hilda in hers.

Lex turned to the others still waiting to audition and said, “Are there any actors left in this city who have any talent?” Lex proceeded to quip that he needed five minutes and wanted to know where the hell Carl was.


Author Bio:

Kris Embrey has had a love of music since she can remember. She studied music engineering and worked for Dick Clark as a runner for his music production company. Her professional career has included working for various television productions such as the American Music Awards and the Academy Awards. This is her first book.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

The Troubles Keeper by Susan May

Standard

The Troubles KeeperThe Troubles Keeper by Susan May
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rory Fine is a bus driver but he’s far from your ordinary every day blue collar worker. Rory was born with a gift that allows him to ease the fears and troubles from others with just a touch. One night along his regular route Rory gets the feeling that his passengers are a bit more bogged down with their problems so he offers to help them all as they depart his bus.

As Rory touches one particular passenger though he finds himself taking on something dark and evil that he’s never experienced before. Little did Rory know that his offer to brighten the day of his passengers would lead him on a perilous journey dealing with forces that he never could have imagined before.

The Troubles Keeper is another book that is an interesting mix of elements involved in the story. It’s definitely part paranormal fantasy with Rory having a special ability but there is also the edgy thriller side of it that I became a fan of Susan May for from her book Deadly Messengers that I read last summer and ended up one of my favorites of 2015.

Rory is a very likable main character that is a bit of a superhero with what he can do to help people. Those he touch have all of their misery lifted from their minds that bog them down so you can only imagine the possibilities in what this gift could do. Think of those suffering depression or contemplating suicide, families that are torn apart as relationships crumble over arguments that if given the chance at clearing your head and tackling problems from a better state of mind could be saved it became clear while reading the world could really use someone like Rory in it.

Along with the gifts of the main character though we have an intense plot that pulls you in rather quickly and keeps the pages turning. The reader learns early on there is a killer on the loose but things quickly get escalated which you would expect with the paranormal elements to the book. I won’t go too into the details to not spoil things but it’s definitely one I’d recommend checking out.

I received an advance copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Whatever You Call Me by Leigh Fleming blitz with giveaway

Standard

Whatever You Call Me
Leigh Fleming
Publication date: September 20th 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Annie Cooper is fed up with Washington. More importantly, she’s done with being Senator George Cooper’s daughter and all the expectations that come with it. She changes her name and tries to start fresh after quitting her job, but the only position she can find is in the political world she despises.

Kip Porter is a two-term congressman from a blue collar district along the shores of the Chesapeake Bay whose ambition leads him astray from the core values he—and his constituents—hold dear. He needs Senator Cooper’s backing to get his bill through the Senate and plans to use Annie to do it.

What starts out as a simple game of hidden identity soon becomes complicated. Annie wants to prove her worth on her own terms, but the closer she grows to Kip, the more she needs to come clean. With unexpected romance blossoming between them, will Kip keep his own secrets, or reveal the truth in the name of love?

(This is a stand alone romance – you do not need to read Best Friends Book 1 to enjoy this title).

Goodreads / Amazon / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Annie felt the sting and quickly slapped the mosquito nibbling on her calf. They’d been sitting in the grassy field for over an hour waiting for the tow truck to arrive. The subs had long ago been eaten, but they lounged on the trunk carpet sipping what was left of their fountain drinks.

“Damn, it’s hot.” Kip began unbuttoning his shirt and pulling the tail out of his pants. “I’ve got to get out of these clothes.”

Purposely looking the opposite direction, Annie fought the urge to take a glimpse of a shirtless Kip, but instead looked out at the baking weeds in the field. She jerked upright when she heard his belt buckle clink.

“What are you doing?” she shrieked.

“I’m getting out of these clothes. I’m burning up.” Kip tramped to the car, walking around to the driver’s side back door, and leaned inside where Annie couldn’t see. She strained her neck and rose up on her knees, stretching to see what he was doing. A few minutes later he returned to their makeshift picnic spot wearing gym shorts, a T-shirt, and sneakers. Annie dropped back onto the carpet and pulled up a few blades of grass as Kip dropped beside her.

“Disappointed?” he whispered in her ear.

“Huh?”

“You heard me.”

“Why would I be disappointed?”

“You were hoping I was going to strip down.” He wiggled his eyebrows and nudged his shoulder into hers.

“Oh, please.” She went back to weeding the field, furiously yanking blades of grass and letting them flutter in the humid breeze.

“Come on, Coach. I saw the look on your face when I started unbuttoning my shirt.”

“Get over yourself.” She shoved back and then stood up, brushing the dust from her dress. “Should you call them again to see where the truck is?”

“What, don’t you like our little picnic?”

“Porter…seriously, we need to get back.” Annie glared at Kip where he lay on the carpet, resting his head in his hands.

“Relax, it will be here soon. Come lay down with me.” He patted his hand on the carpet and gave her his most salacious grin.

“Not a chance.”

“Come on…what are you afraid of?”

Annie stared at Kip, taking a tendril in her hand and twisting it tightly around her finger. She glanced over her shoulder at the car and then back at him, now lying on his side with his head resting on his hand. He patted the carpet once more and invited her over with a swoosh of his hand.

“Fine,” she said, joining him on the carpet and mimicking his relaxed position.

“Tell me about the mechanic.”

“I already told you. We dated in high school and he taught me all about cars.”

“Nah…there’s got to be more to the story.” Annie watched Kip’s soft lips curl at the corners. The memory of him leaning in to kiss her earlier in the day flashed through her mind. She sighed and flipped flat on her back.

“Not really. My father hated him…thought he wasn’t a good influence. We didn’t date long.”

“This is the first I’ve heard about your dad. You’ve never mentioned your family, actually. What do they do?”

“Oh, um…” Annie closed her eyes against the bright sun. “My dad is an attorney and my mom is a professional party giver.” Not a total lie.

“Sound like interesting people. I’d like to meet them.”

whatever-you-call-me-quote-card-2


Author Bio:

After several years of saying she would write a book someday, Leigh Fleming finally fulfilled her ultimate bucket list item by writing and self-publishing a novel. In 2013, she completed her first work, Precious Words, a romance suspense story set in the glittering world of men’s professional tennis, taking the reader on a whirlwind trip full of love and danger.

Leigh continues to hone her craft and learn what it takes to create a page-turning novel. She has completed Whatever You Call Me, set to release in fall, 2016, and Whatever You Say, to be released spring, 2017.

Leigh lives with her husband, Patrick, in Martinsburg, West Virginia, and is mom to adult children, Tom and Liza, and her two dogs, Lula Belle and Napoleon.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Amazon / Newsletter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Shadow of a Girl by Shannon Greenland blitz with giveaway

Standard

Shadow of a Girl
Shannon Greenland
Published by: Entangled: Teen
Publication date: September 19th 2016
Genres: Romance, Young Adult

Use cash and keep moving.

After I ran away from home, these were the two rules that dictated my life. Scoring a job as a roadie fit perfectly for what I needed. Traveling, cash, and life out of the spotlight. But when my path collides with West, the lead singer of Bus Stop, I can’t seem to stay out of his spotlight—especially since we’ll be touring together for an entire year.

West is determined to break down my walls. He won’t give up. And little by little they come crumbling. But if he knew what lurked behind them, he wouldn’t be so eager to get rid of them.

The more time we spend together, the more the lines of our friendship become blurred. He makes me dream of things I never thought possible. But while our friendship has been evolving into a romance, my secrets have been closing in. And just when I’ve decided to reveal my past to West, I’m confronted by it. The cost of my freedom could ruin the life of the guy I love…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

EXCERPT:

His hand stills. He doesn’t move. Neither do I, and neither one of us speaks. Then West shifts first, gently pushing me away, and rolls to a sitting position. He rubs his eyes and looks around and finally with a sigh, glances over his shoulder at me where I still lay on the blanket.

“It’s late,” he says, “and you’ve got to be up early for work.”

I nod, completely confused that he’s the one who pulled away.

He gets to his feet and holds out his hand. “Come on, I’ll walk you to your room.”

I let him pull me up, and together we fold the blanket. But as I come toward him with my ends of the blanket, he slides one arm around my back and holds me to him. “Hug me,” he whispers. “Please?”

His words liquefy my insides, and I don’t hesitate as I slip both arms around his waist and lay my face on his chest. With the blanket smooshed between us, I listen to his heartbeat as he pulls me in snug, resting his head on top of mine. Gently, he rocks me, humming a song I don’t recognize, but the tune buzzes through me, and I sink further into the embrace.

We stand this way, gently swaying, as he hums the whole song. I haven’t cried in many years. The last time I did I was in excruciating pain. So when the wetness pools in my eyes, I blink my lids, surprised, realizing they’re tears of happiness.

Exactly what tears should be.

soag-teaser-6


Author Bio:

Shannon Greenland is the award winning author of several novels including the teen spy series, THE SPECIALISTS, and the YA romance, THE SUMMER MY LIFE BEGAN. Her latest teen novel, SHADOW OF A GIRL, is due out 9.19.16. She also writes thrillers under S. E. Green and lives off the coast of Florida with her very grouchy dog. Find her at http://www.shannongreenland.com

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Cover Reveal: Crown of Cinders by Rebecca Ethington

Standard

Crown of Cinders
Rebecca Ethington
(Imdalind, #7)
Publication date: November 28th 2016
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult

The Internationally Best-Selling Imdalind Series comes to a close in this long awaited heart-pounding conclusion.

For centuries the war that has raged within magic has ripped the world apart. Fought between Skȓítek and Trpaslík; killing father and son, and destroying a fragile balance between mortal and magic.

For centuries everyone has been awaiting the Silnỳ, searching for the girl who was prophesized. The girl with power strong enough to defeat the evil that plagued the world, and bring the war to an end.

For centuries, everyone was wrong.

The Silnỳ was not what they had been told, the promises of future distorted by a sight that was tarnished. The evil was not what they had expected, not what they had been fighting against. Instead it was hidden amongst them; plotting, waiting for their time to strike.

And it did. With fire and blade the hidden evil took it’s place upon a throne of blood. The evil has shown itself and now only one person can save them all.

But with Sights that are no longer infallible and armies that are abandoning their king – it is no longer clear who that person is, or even if they have the courage to stand up to the evil and face their end.

Goodreads / Pre-order

Previous books in the series:
17280547 17304097 17874494 18186721 24660092 18713438


Author Bio:

Rebecca Ethington is an internationally bestselling author with almost 700,000 books sold. Her breakout debut, The Imdalind Series, has been featured on bestseller lists since its debut in 2012, reaching thousands of adoring fans worldwide and cited as “Interesting and Intense” by USA Today’s Happily Ever After Blog.

From writing horror to romance and creating every sort of magical creature in be-tween, Rebecca’s imagination weaves vibrant worlds that transport readers into the pages of her books. Her writing has been described as fresh, original, and groundbreaking, with stories that bend genres and create fantastical worlds.

Born and raised under the lights of a stage, Rebecca has written stories by the ghost light, told them in whispers in dark corridors, and never stopped creating within the pages of a notebook.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


XBTBanner1

Fallen Star by Allison Morse blitz with giveaway

Standard

Fallen Star
Allison Morse
Publication date: September 21st 2016
Genres: Adult, Gothic, Romance

Who killed 1940s screen goddess Gloria Reardon? Her unsolved murder hypnotized the public with its scandalous details and shocked two generations.

Avid feminist and aspiring filmmaker, Kate Bloom discovers long lost footage that holds the key to who murdered her grandmother. Legendary movie star, Gloria Reardon, may be dead, but friends and lovers from the Golden Age of Hollywood’s heyday are still very much on the scene, and it seems everyone has something to gain or lose from Kate’s discovery. Enlisting the youthful and brash film restorer Dylan Nichols as her closest ally, Kate becomes haunted by Gloria’s glittering past. Caught between glamorous Old Hollywood and the gritty, exciting New Hollywood of the 1970s, Kate is determined to find out what really happened to her grandmother and in the process becomes the killer’s new target.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

fallen-star_quote-card-1

“…Morse has woven a Gothic masterpiece that reflects the charm of the old films it discusses.” – San Francisco Book Review

“A brilliant, well-written novel that…will keep readers in the dark and guessing all the way.” – Manhattan Book Review

“…a delightfully complex plot filled with myriad twists and turns…” – RT Book Reviews


Author Bio:

Allison Morse grew up in a family of actors in Los Angeles; before the age of five she started acting classes, which she adored. She continued in the family business until her early twenties when her curious spirit led her to consider other interests and professions, like counseling and the law. After receiving her B.A. from U.C. Berkeley, Allison went on to graduate from Phillips Graduate Institute with an M.A. in Marriage and Family Therapy and U.C. Hastings College of the Law with a J.D.

Although she loved learning from each of her varied careers one of her favorite jobs was working for the now closed Dutton’s, a wonderful, musty new, used and rare bookstore in North Hollywood with deep roots in Southern California’s literary community. This wonderful, musty new, used and rare bookstore in North Hollywood had deep roots in Southern California’s literary community. Whatever she was doing, books and story-telling ruled her imagination.

Allison always knew that for her, writing is as essential as breathing. But as she pursued her professional life, this great love was consigned to private journals that she filled with musings and story ideas. Ten years ago that changed and she decided to get serious about being a writer.

While continuing to work full time as a lawyer, she kept to a strict writing schedule, took writing classes at UCLA Extension. She joined the Romance Writers of America and Sisters in Crime. Now Allison has completed two novels: a romance entitled The Sweetheart Deal and Fallen Star, a Hollywood gothic.

Allison lives with her husband in a house in the hills that’s filled with books.

Website / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Cover Reveal: The Reaping by Shirley Anne Edwards

Standard

The Reaping
Shirley Anne Edwards
Publication date: October 23rd 2016
Genres: Horror, Young Adult

The quaint village where Adela Jane lives is surrounded by fear. At night, a centuries old green mist covers the land and controls the animals within the forest. Lately, Adela feels someone or something is following her every move. Unbeknownst to her, the mist waits for the perfect moment to make her his. Adela feels trapped by her small town life and burdened by her love she keeps hidden for her best friend’s older brother, Nathan Alexander. But all that changes on her eighteenth birthday when Nathan admits his love and desire to marry her. Adela’s joy is cut short when the mist kidnaps her and takes her to his secret underground lair. Her nightmare has only just begun when the mist makes Adela his bride.

What of the Jabberwocky fell in love with Alice from Lewis Caroll’s Through the Looking Glass? That’s the question tackled in The Reaping. A Young Adult with an atmospheric Gothic feel, and elements from such classic novels, as Gaston Leroux’s Phantom of the Opera and John Fowles’ The Collector.

Add to Goodreads


Author Bio:

Shirley Anne Edwards is a Northeast girl who first found her love for books when she read Nancy Drew’s The Secret of the Old Clock Tower at thirteen. Shirley found her love for writing at a very young age, and since then has let her imagination run wild by creating quirky characters and vast worlds in her head.

Shirley lives in New Jersey and works in the entertainment industry in New York City.

In the immortal words of Mark Twain: “Life is short, Break the Rules. Forgive quickly, Kiss SLOWLY. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably and never regret ANYTHING That makes you smile.”

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


XBTBanner1

The Surrendered by Case Maynard blitz with giveaway

Standard

The Surrendered
Case Maynard
Published by: Blaze Publishing
Publication date: September 20th 2016
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult

After a financial collapse devastates the United States, the new government imposes a tax on the nation’s most valuable resource—the children.

Surrendered at age ten—after her parents could no longer afford her exorbitant fees—Vee Delancourt has spent six hard years at the Mills, alongside her twin, Oliver. With just a year to freedom, they do what they can to stay off the Master’s radar. But when Vee discovers unspeakable things happening to the younger girls in service, she has no choice but to take a stand—a decision that lands her on the run and outside the fence for the first time since the System robbed her of her liberty.

Vee knows the Master will stop at nothing to prove he holds ultimate authority over the Surrendered. But when he makes a threat that goes beyond what even she considers possible, she accepts the aid of an unlikely group of allies. Problem is, with opposing factions gunning for the one thing that might save them all, Vee must find a way to turn oppression and desperation into hope and determination—or risk failing all the children and the brother she left behind.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

EXCERPT:

A sinking feeling washes over me. “We’re going to Meadowood.”

He responds without opening his eyes, “I want answers.”

I start to argue that this will be a fool’s errand, but in truth, I want the same answers he does. “Do you think the man who rescued Oliver was with the Southies?”

“I don’t know who else it could’ve been.” He sits up and stretches. “It must’ve been them, and I want to know why they changed the plan without informing us. The Master and his Regulators got to the rooftop very quickly after I fired that shot. I have to wonder if someone told them we were there.”

“You think the Southies took Oliver to get the combination and then set the Regulators on us? Why would they do that?”

He rubs his face. “It doesn’t make any sense. But something’s not adding up.”

I ponder this, thinking about my brother’s strange plea. “I know you think I’m insane, but I can’t help but feel like Oliver knew someone was going to take him; I swear it felt like he was speaking to me when he said not to interfere. But that doesn’t make any sense, either. He’s been behind the fence for years.”

Cason yawns and tries to shake off the effects of the Papaver. “I don’t think you’re crazy; his message did seem odd for someone who was about to hang for a crime he didn’t commit. I don’t know, but hopefully he’ll be at Meadowood and you can ask him yourself.”

My mood elevates as I realize I may only be hours away from a reunion with my brother. The pain in my arm forgotten, I try to concentrate only on this knowledge, confident we’ll have our answers soon enough. “I didn’t get a chance to thank you for earlier. You could’ve just turned me over to the Master and walked away, but you didn’t. I’m grateful for that.”

I feel a little embarrassed as soon as the words leave my mouth. Normally I’m not one to share my feelings, but the Papaver Flower makes me breathless and lightheaded and loosens my tongue.

He reaches for me, careful not to jostle my splinted wrist, and pulls my face to his. “I’m probably going to ruin that sentiment by telling you the Master would never have let me go anyway, but know this—” he runs the pad of his thumb along my lower lip and meets my eyes “—if everyone else in the entire world leaves you to fend for yourself, if your father, your mother, your brother disappoint you, if God himself decides you aren’t worthy . . . you’ll still be able to count on me. I’ve got your back, Vera.”

the-surrendered-teaser-8


Author Bio:

With over 20 years’ experience in the legal and medical fields, Case Maynard decided to trade in her briefs and reports to write the stories that have been floating around in her head since childhood. She lives with her two teenagers and husband in South Georgia, while maintaining a long-distance liaison with her oldest daughter and partner in crime in Alaska. When not writing, she enjoys reading as often as possible, binge watching anything good on Netflix, and all things NCAA football (Go Noles!). You can learn more about Case and her stories on her website.

Website / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1