A Deadly Thaw by Sarah Ward

Standard

A Deadly ThawA Deadly Thaw by Sarah Ward
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Lena Grey had been found guilty of murdering her husband and spent over a decade in prison for the murder. Lena hadn’t offered any defense for the murder and served her time but when she is released now years later a body turns up freshly murdered and it turns out it’s really Lena’s husband.

Now DI Francis Sadler and his team need to find out who it was that died years before and why Lena had never spoken up about the identity. DC Connie Childs is convinced there is more to what is going on than what they have gotten from Lena. With a new murder and an old crime to solve the family’s secrets and lies are found at every turn.

A Deadly Thaw was not really a bad read at all but I had a couple of issues with this one that just kept me from really connecting with it and enjoying myself while reading. The first problem I had right off the start was due to the formatting of my review copy which has nothing to do with the actual story but put my mood off to have to wade through figuring out this story. It was as if the space bar was missing in this one so huge parts were all ran together so obviously this wasn’t fun to deal with.

But, even if I tried to ignore the issues reading I still think I may have been at a bit of a disconnect with the story regardless. This is actually a part of a series and I wasn’t expecting that when I picked it up but just starting off it felt there may be some depth I’d missed which happens sometimes when joining.

Overall, not a bad read at all it just didn’t turn out to be my cup of tea at the moment althoug I’m sure some others will love this police procedural/thriller read.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

