Lost Stars by Lisa Selin Davis

Standard

Lost StarsLost Stars by Lisa Selin Davis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After the death of her older sister Carrie becomes the typical rebellious teen acting out in her grief. She’s begun hanging out with the older crowd that were friends with her sister and doing all the wrong things. Getting fed up with her behavior Carrie’s father insists she go to a summer work camp at a local state park to hopefully get Carrie back under control again. Carrie meets Dean that summer, a guy who sees the real her and helps to pull her back out of the wild crowd she’d gotten herself into.

Ok, I have to admit my first attraction to this book was simply a main character named Carrie. But with Lost Stars dealing with loss and grief I was hoping for an emotional read to fall in love with. When finished though I didn’t quite get that connection I had hoped and it just really never broke too out of the mold of many other stories dealing with the loss of a sibling.

What I really did like during this read however was the musical references and Carrie’s astronomy obsession. These little bits made the story a bit more unique and enjoyable along the way. Carrie herself though seemed a bit selfish through most of the read with her hateful acting out behavior instead of someone to sympathize with. Her actions became a bit more clear later in the story but I had wished it was told sooner so I could feel a bit more for her.

Overall, an OK read but one that didn’t stand out or become particularly memorable to me in the end.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

