Under Ground (Regular Edition) by Alice Rachel

Standard

Under Ground (Regular Edition)Under Ground by Alice Rachel
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thia Clay lives in a society where women have no rights and her parents have already arranged her marriage a few years ago when she was only thirteen. Now at seventeen Thia has a meeting with her soon to be husband William and learns what a cruel and selfish man he is.

Chi Richards is even lower in society that Thia as the second born to a family his whole existence is illegal. When This meets Chi she is drawn to him and finds herself lying and sneaking off for this strange boy for the first time in her life. Thia finds out that Chi is a member of the Underground—a rebellious group seeking to overthrow the government and soon finds herself caught up in his world trying to change society.

For me Under Ground got off to a rather promising start so I had high hopes as I was reading this story. A dystopian world where women are basically property and a whole group of those in hiding and fighting for their rights certainly had my interest up. Unfortunately this one kind of stalled out for me midway though.

One thing I found is that I would have loved for Thia to have been a stronger lead than she was. It looked like that would be the direction it would go but I was disappointed when it didn’t. A bit too naive for my taste she just didn’t stand out in my opinion in this world. Also, I found once the story got going it became a bit predictable in nature and just didn’t stand out from the many other dystopian reads out there.

Overall, just an OK story for me in the dysopian genre, it just didn’t stand out in a very crowded genre to absolutely love this one.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Leave a Reply

