The Thread That Binds the Bones by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

Standard

The Thread That Binds the BonesThe Thread That Binds the Bones by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

After an incident where Tom Renfield had to reveal his abilities he finds himself moving to a new town to hide away who he is and his powers. Taking a job as a cab driver Tom finds himself picking up Laura Bolte and finding himself heading straight into the midst of a powerful magical ancient family in Chapel Hollow.

Laura and Tom finds themselves drawn together by supernatural forces that the pair doesn’t understand so now Tom finds himself a part of the Bolte clan that has been terrorizing the small Oregon town of Arcadia. Laura and Tom find themselves trying to find a way to protect the innocent citizens.

Going into The Thread That Binds the Bones I had thought that this one was a young adult read but quickly found that I was mistaken on that. The main characters immediately are showering together and married and consummating the relationship within hours of meeting so I got off to a bit of a rocky start wondering what I’d gotten into with this one.

Once the magic starts being given depth in the story it did grab my interest piecing together how things worked since it did seem a bit unique. But unfortunately as much as I liked the magic in the story then other events happen that I didn’t quite care for which then brought my opinion back down again.

In the end I wasn’t a huge fan of this one, some good things but more than I wasn’t enjoying so I decided on 2.5 stars. I would warn of a lot of things to anyone interested in reading this story. There’s the instant connection involved straight away but for most the problem would lie in the terrible acts committed such as rape in the story.

I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

