Timekeeper (Timekeeper, #1) by Tara Sim

Standard

Timekeeper (Timekeeper, #1)Timekeeper by Tara Sim
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Seventeen year old Danny Hart is the youngest clock mechanic and he knows all too well what is at stake when he’s sent to repair a clock tower that has been damaged. Danny’s father has been trapped for the last three years in a town with a clock tower that was destroyed stopping the time within the town so that no one can cross in or out.

When Danny is sent to Enfield to fix the tower he finds that it seems to be forever plagued by more and more problems. What Danny finds is that the boy that he thought was his new apprentice has actually been the spirit of the clock tower that likes having Danny around so he’s been causing his own problems with his tower. Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden but he finds himself more and more drawn to Enfield and when a series of bombings start happening at other towers Danny vows to protect Enfield’s tower.

The first book in the new Timekeeper series takes place in a sort of alternate Victorian era London and surrounding cities where these clock towers control the cities and time. One of the things I found with this book is I had a bit of trouble grasping the world in which the author was trying to create. This is taking place in the late 1800’s in and near London but the characters have access to things like automobiles and telephones which seemed a bit weird to me. For me I think I would have preferred a new fantasy city/world being created instead of a known city and time so that it didn’t seem that things weren’t fitting the era. While I understood the idea it just kept seeming a bit off to try to remember the time and setting and mix it into a fantasy.

I did however enjoy the plot and the characters in this one with one exception. The idea of a stopped city was also a bit off with the description given when the characters actually encountered one themselves. Supposedly time stops within which would seem like nothing could occur but that wasn’t what was actually happening so that seemed an odd term to me. I kept thinking shouldn’t we just be referring to it as a broken city or something along that line where time is off and the characters can’t escape.

In the end I decided on 3.5 stars for this first book of the series. Even with the little details I’ve mentioned though this was still an interesting start to this series and I would continue to see what happens in the later books.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

12 responses »

  1. The lack of telephones and automobiles is what made Victorian era, so I can’t even imagine how the streets of london would look like in that era if ppl were driving, it definitely wouldn’t be the same era anymore.
    So I agree with you, even though this is a fantasy do there’s a freedom when it comes to creating the setting, maybe it would be better if the author set this story in a whole another world instead in the familiar one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that was what I was thinking. Instead of setting a specific real time and setting and then changing what was going on during that time in this fantasy world I had just thought it would make more sense to create something completely new. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Liked your review! I, too, have read and totally loved Timekeeper. But I believe the author said that due to the mechanical advances needed to maintain the clock towers, Industrial Revolution happened earlier than real life. And that spurred the invention of autos and telephones. πŸ™‚

    Either way, I’m happy to find your review! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Dan! Yes, I did read the interview at the back but that still kind of left me scratching my head as to why not just create a totally new world instead of expecting a reader to understand the changes made to a specific real time period and city. Of course it’s just my opinion but I just thought it would have been so much better to not be comparing the changes in the book to something in real life to something in a fantasy read.

      Like

    • I had seen a lot of really good reviews so I thought I was being a bit picky with it but I can understand if you’ve seen them both ways, just kind of one of those reads that some will like and others won’t I suppose.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

