The Watcher, Crossing Realms Series Book 2 by Rebecca E. Neely

Standard

The Watcher, Crossing Realms Series Book 2The Watcher, Crossing Realms Series Book 2 by Rebecca E. Neely
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

The Keepers are meant to help out humans whenever they can and often come to the rescue of those in danger when they receive transmissions from the Watchers from another realm. Humans have no memory of a Keeper when coming in contact with one but when not protecting humans the Keepers are normal hardworking members of society.

Keeper Dev Geary wants to avenge his own death so he eagerly accepts a task from the Watchers to return to the human realm to discover the secret for rendering Similitude, the very thing that killed him. Dev’s been granted seven days in the human realm and will need to convince Meda Gabriel, a human who wants nothing to do with him to work with him to stop the Betrayers.

The Watcher is the second book in the Crossing Realms series by Rebecca E. Neely. While the book does pick up the action after the ending of the first book in the series it could also possibly be read as a standalone since the characters featured in each book have changed, the story is explained well enough that it may not be necessary to have read the first. The series is a bit of a mix of paranormal fantasy with a bit of romance thrown into it so we have an new couple involved in the second book but the first are mentioned a bit.

For me I think I enjoyed the first book a tad more than the second in this series basically because with starting over with new characters the story spends a lot of time with Dev explaining things to Meda, the same that we had in the first story. I think I would’ve been a bit happier with just picking up the action and excitement after the ending of the first book but instead I felt it go a bit slower than I would have liked while getting to know the new couple which is a rarity for a fantasy series.

Overall, 3.5 stars for this installment of the Crossing Realms series. Still an interesting world that has been created and will be interested to continue reading if the series continues but would have liked more action after the exciting ending to book one.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

8 responses »

    • I am for the most part now. Those stronger pain killers were kicking my rear end. Then after a couple of weeks trying to not push on my stomach etc I ended up with my back that I’ve had problems with off and on for years starting to act up but now that’s slowly getting better and trying to only use over the counter stuff when I need pain relief.

      I’ve been reading a bit more again but still feel like my brain just doesn’t want to kick in and work when I need to write reviews so I end up doing a bunch at once.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

