The Killer Inside (Detective Jessica Daniel, #1) by Kerry Wilkinson

Standard

The Killer Inside (Detective Jessica Daniel, #1)The Killer Inside by Kerry Wilkinson
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Detective Sergeant Jessica Daniel has been called in to head up an investigation when a body turns up inside of a locked home. With very little to go on in the investigation things really heat up when a second body is discovered putting even more pressure on Jessica to get the case solved. To make matters worse there seems to be a journalist that knows more than he should and now the headlines have turned into the Houdini serial killer on the loose.

The Killer Inside is the first book in the Detective Jessica Daniel series by Kerry Wilkinson. While I thought this got off to a somewhat strong start I can’t say there wasn’t a bit of room for improvement in the future editions with Jessica leaving me to rate this one at 3.5 stars.

The story is compelling enough with a killer on the loose that somehow gets in and out of homes without a trace with no signs of a break in. I did sometimes feel though that things just didn’t quite seem completely believable with a detective on a case. Also, I did have my suspicions of the killer fairly early on too but I don’t believe it was completely obvious either. In the end I’d continue on with the series to see just how Jessica grows as her story continues.

I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

