RoseBlood by A.G. Howard

Standard

RoseBloodRoseBlood by A.G. Howard
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Rune Germaine has always had a beautiful voice but feels a pull towards singing that she doesn’t quite understand and can even feel sick or drained at the end of a performance. Now Rune’s mother has talked Rune’s aunt into pulling a few strings to get Rune bumped to the front of the line to attend Roseblood, a boarding school outside of Paris at an opera house that’s been turned into a music conservatory.

Rune knows the history of the opera house and shortly after arriving she sees a mystery boy that vanishes as quickly as he appears which has her questioning whether the stories are real or not. But Rune doesn’t have time to dwell on whether something otherworldly is in play quite yet when her pull to sing interrupts auditions being held much to the dismay of others.

RoseBlood by A.G. Howard is a young adult fantasy retelling of the Phantom of the Opera. First with the good about this book, I really felt that the author did a wonderful job taking the well known story of the Phantom and incorporating it into a young adult fantasy read. The story moved along quite nicely and while there were some of the normal young adult tropes involved I think it go creative enough with a well known story as the basis to make the story interesting.

But there were a couple of things with the book that brought my rating down a bit to finally setting on giving this one 3.5 stars. First, not really a big deal but something that bugged me while reading was the use of O.G., now this probably wouldn’t stand out but I had just had to explain that O.G. stood for original gangster no more than a week before reading this so every use had me thinking that version in my head. Also, hopefully without saying anything spoilery here I’ll just say that for me I think the explaining what was going on in the story as far as the fantasy/paranormal explanation felt a bit off with the wording being used.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

2 responses »

    • One that shows sometimes little things bother someone that may not someone else. I did like it for the most part but just those couple of things were somewhat annoying to me and kept me from rating higher.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

