Thirst by Jacquelyn Frank

Standard

ThirstThirst by Jacquelyn Frank
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Detective Renee Holden gets a call to investigate a homicide where the witness claims she saw a vampire attack the victim. Upon inspecting the body Renee and the coroner find two puncture marks in the back of the victim’s neck that look to be from a bite and they think they’ve come across someone who has had dental work to imitate vampires because there’s no such thing, right?

Rafe DaSilva is an energy vampire, instead of biting and taking a victim’s blood he feeds upon the energy of humans without killing them. When watching at the crime scene Rafe knows that the victim was killed by a rouge sychophant and he needs to find the culprit before he kills again. Deciding to get close to Renee to keep up on the investigation Rafe finds himself falling for the detective and in danger of disclosing the secret world of vampires.

Thirst is the first book in the new Energy Vampires series by Jacquelyn Frank. The story has been created around a secret world of vampires living among humans that instead of feeding on blood are feeding upon energy of their prey. Of course with every society you have the bad mixed in with the good and some rogue vampires still kill their prey and are in danger of exposing the whole secret world.

I’m not sure I’m totally sold on non-blood drinking vampires myself but I thought I would give this series a try. What I found myself is that I had a bit of a problem connecting with the characters and fitting them into the situations at any given time during this book. For example for Renee being a homicide detective she was awfully timid when meeting Rafe but then a complete turn around to the I can take care of myself strong attitude you should expect from page 1.

All in all it was an OK read for the beginning of a series. A lot of world building with the vampire politics and some steamy moments in the budding romance involved but little details here and there kept me from loving this one even more.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

