The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

Standard

The Girl BeforeThe Girl Before by J.P. Delaney
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One Folgate Street is a home that you’d think you’d only ever see on the pages of a magazine but when Jane finds herself in a dark place in her life and looking for a new start she comes across the rental. Moving in even after finding a long list of rules to follow to rent the home Jane still believes this is the fresh start she needs.

However, Jane finds herself becoming fascinated with finding out what happened to One Folgate Street’s former resident Emma. Finding that Emma died within the walls of her new home Jane can’t help but investigate to find out the truth for herself before she follows along in Emma’s footsteps.

The Girl Before is told from alternating points of view between Jane, the current tenant, in the present and Emma, the former tenant in the past. There are often times that there is no clear distinction with dialogue by use of quotations but this really didn’t bother this reader at all. I found the story to be immediately gripping and intense as I learned what brought these two women into this home.

Both characters in this story are coming from rough times in their lives and needing a new start. When shown the home at One Folgate Street they are told there is a long list of rules to live in the home anywhere from no books to no curtains or changes made to the home. Thinking that a new start is more important than possessions the contract is quickly signed by both and that is where the intensity begins.

Now while I didn’t quite find this a perfect read in my opinion as there were some things happening that I didn’t quite agree with being added into the story I still found myself quite compelled with this one to give it four stars in the end. I’d certainly recommend checking this one out to the thriller fans.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

6 responses »

    • Yes, exactly. I didn’t want to go too into details in my review and spoil anything but there were just some things I’d personally change but that didn’t change how hooked I was on the story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

