Trapped in Wonderland by Dani Hoots

Standard

Trapped in WonderlandTrapped in Wonderland by Dani Hoots
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Meredith Hughes had never liked her first name and prefers to go by her middle name, Alice. One day at school Alice follows some fellow students into a locker and finds herself falling into the land in Lewis Carroll’s “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”. But the others give Alice a potion to make her forget her brief journey and return her home.

With everything back to normal for Alice things seem to be going fine until the White Rabbit shows up in her world and tries to kill her and Alice finds herself back in Wonderland. Apparently according to a prophecy Alice is the only one that can save Wonderland from a group, the Cirque de Rêves, that is trying to destroy and takeover the world.

Anyone that has followed my reviews knows that I’m a sucker for any retellings or retakes on the original stories such as Alice in Wonderland. I picked this one up hoping to get quickly involved in a new take on an old favorite but unfortunately that wasn’t the case.

The story in Trapped in Wonderland started off alright enough but for this reader I just found that it didn’t take too long into the book for the pace to just completely slow down and lose my interest. Now while the idea of this new Alice heading to Wonderland intrigued me to begin with I just found myself not really connecting with her or her journey.

Overall, some good ideas within but just wasn’t really for me as it seemed to just be too slow paced and not enough new and exciting to draw my attention.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

