Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts #1) by Vic James

Standard

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts #1)Gilded Cage by Vic James
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

In Gilded Cage the world is ruled by Equals who are aristocrats with magical gifts. Everyone else are known as commoners and at some point during their lifetimes they have to serve the Equals for a period of ten years as their slaves. Commoners can choose to serve at any point in their lives from 10 to 80 years old.

After Luke’s younger sister turns ten his family breaks the news to him that they have signed up the entire family to serve their slave days. Luke’s older sister Abi has arranged for the family to do work together at a plantation owned by England’s most powerful family of Equals. But upon arrival the paperwork has been messed up and Luke is shipped off to a slave town separate from the rest of his family.

I was a bit back and forth reading Gilded Cage by Vic James the entire time. Some of this book I really enjoyed and would get caught up in what was going on but other parts just felt really slow to me. The idea behind the serving ten years of your life kept me engaged as wanting to know what would happen though and in the end I decided to give this read 3.5 stars.

I think for me following Abi, Luke and the rest of their family and the others around those characters were the more interesting parts of the story. For whatever reason I kept feeling a disconnect when the chapters would switch to the point of view of the Equals. Giving up ten years of your life and deciding when to do that just had my mind spinning so perhaps that was why I was more interested in that side.

Overall, not a bad start to the series at 3.5 stars, some slower parts for me but still an interesting story.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

One response »

Leave a Reply

