Off the Ice (Juniper Falls, #1) by Julie Cross

Standard

Off the Ice (Juniper Falls, #1)Off the Ice by Julie Cross
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Claire O’Connor didn’t think she would be back in her home town so soon but after only a year away at college she’s had to return to help take care of her ailing father and the family business. With the bills piling up Claire struggles to keep her family afloat and hopes her dreams of returning to school don’t slip out of her grasp.

Claire soon finds herself crossing paths with Tate Tanley again after returning home. Tate is slightly younger than Claire but the two grew up together and before Claire had left she found herself in the middle of a secret with Tate when his father abused him. After the year away Claire finds that the boy she once knew has now grown into a man and she finds herself drawn to him.

Off the Ice is a young adult contemporary romance read that for me seemed to just be a bit too slow paced for my taste. The story had a lot of different things going on in the read that seemed to take away from the romance but with so many things such as Claire and Tate both struggling with their families, Tate’s hockey career, previous relationships etc this all seemed to bog down the story and each get a bit lost here and there.

Also, while reading this one with so much going on in the story and the book being a bit lengthy in my opinion for this type of read I struggled with believing these characters would even come together. Tate was said to be a year younger than Claire but only in his junior year of high school I believe so I find it odd that Claire returning from college would be interested. Of course I also argued they did have somewhat of a past so maybe it was possible. In the end though I’d say this one was simply an OK read overall.

I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

2 responses »

  1. I loved Cross’ Tempest. I really want to read more of her work! As I noticed, she writes more contemorary lately which is great bc I love contemoraries.
    It’s a shame you didn’t like it better though, but then again, we can’t be in love with all the books we read.
    p.s. I tried to find this book on Netgalley but couldn’t. They must have removed it! o_0

    Liked by 1 person

    • It may have already been archived since it published like a week ago. They didn’t approve me until the day it was published maybe they just gave a few out at the end. Sorry you missed getting it though, you may have liked it a bit more than I did.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

