The Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown

Standard

The Witchfinder's SisterThe Witchfinder’s Sister by Beth Underdown
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

In 1645, Alice Hopkins’ husband died in a horrible accident leaving her to return to to the small Essex town of Manningtree where her brother lived to move in with him. Little did Alice know that her brother had changed though with rumors of him having a book of women’s names that accused them of witchcraft. With Alice hiding a pregnancy she slowing begins to uncover the darker side of her brother Matthew.

The Witchfinder’s Sister is a fictional tale based on the real person Matthew Hopkins. Matthew actually was known as a witch hunter in the time the book is based and was known for being responsible for the deaths of 300 women between the years 1644 and 1646. The author has loosely based this fictional tale upon his real life giving readers a look into that era.

I have to say this wasn’t particularly a bad book and I can see some people loving the story but for me I just couldn’t get into most of it due to the slow pacing. The beginning started off rather well and I thought I would also be one loving this read but it became a bit dry for my taste after a while and I just couldn’t get behind Alice or the story she was telling to keep my attention and interest for long.

After pushing through the slowness I didn’t mind the ending of the story too much either but in the end I decided to rate this one at 2.5 stars just for the slowness of the read to me. I liked what the author was trying to do but perhaps there was just too much focus on Alice and not even on Matthew who is the real star of the story to keep up my interest.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

