Magick & Mayhem (An Abracadabra Mystery #1) by Sharon Pape

Standard

Magick & Mayhem (An Abracadabra Mystery #1)Magick & Mayhem by Sharon Pape
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Kailyn Wilde inherited her mother and grandmother’s centuries old shop, Abracadabra, when they were unfortunately involved in an accident. Coming from a long line of those with magical abilities in the small town of New Camel Kailyn does her best to keep the magic flowing in the shop while keeping the witchcraft under wraps.

When Kailyn and her aunt head to the attorney’s office to finalize the estate they end up finding of their lawyer who happens to be the husband of a good friend of Kailyn. The police are called to the scene and being the first there Kailyn and her aunt become suspects so Kailyn decides to take it upon herself to begin investigating the crime not only to clear her own name but to bring closure to her friend.

Magick and Mayhem is the first book in a new cozy mystery series by Sharon Pope. I am such a sucker for a fun cozy mystery where the character doesn’t act like they are the police but gets involved with their own questioning and looking into the case. But this one especially caught my attention involving unique characters with a magic shop being involved so I had a feeling I would love it and am certainly glad I wasn’t wrong.

The only thing really I would say with this one would be that there were some things left untouched that I hope the author revisits later in the series which brought my rating to 4.5 stars. Otherwise I enjoyed all the characters, even the critters with their own personalities that are mentioned, and the twists and turns looking for the killer. A fun cozy with the magical twist that I’d recommend to those that enjoy something a little out of the ordinary.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

