The Watcher by Bella Jewel

Standard

The WatcherThe Watcher by Bella Jewel
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Seven years ago Marlie Jacobson was kidnapped and tortured by a serial killer but Marlie was the one that ended the killer’s reign when she fought back and killed the man torturing her. Now Marlie lives all alone away from her family to hide from being in the public eye after her mother had written a book detailing Marlie’s nightmare which has brought up a bit of resentment between the two from using her ordeal for profit.

However, when Marlie receives a phone call from a friend back home that her sister is missing Marlie puts her resentment towards her mother aside and returns to do whatever she can to find her sister. When the police seem to be stalling on the case not believing there is any danger Marlie hires Kenai Michelson, a world renowned investigator. Marlie insists that Kenai take her with him to investigate the disappearance despite her anxiety and pain she deals with daily determined to find her sister no matter what it costs.

The Watcher by Bella Jewel is a romantic suspense read which of course meant that the main characters in the story would also begin a relationship while they working on the case. Unfortunately that would be the one small issue I had with the entire story, I just didn’t care for the overly explicit sexual content even though there wasn’t too much involved. I think maybe for me I just would have preferred with Marlie’s trauma in the past a cleaner romance between the two would have set better with her personality.

However, with that complaint aside I completely enjoyed the story of the kidnapping and the characters chasing clues to find out what happened. This is my second read by Bella Jewel and I rather enjoy her writing style finding myself completely engaged in the suspense rather quickly. I had my guesses from early on too and was somewhat right but it took the story unfolding to completely get to the right conclusion so it kept me engaged all throughout.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

