When I Wake Up by Jessica Jarlvi

Standard

When I Wake UpWhen I Wake Up by Jessica Jarlvi
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Anna is a young mother of two little twin boys living with her husband who is a house painter by day and want to be rock star by night while Anna is the main support for the family with her job as a teacher. One thing about Anna is that she cares deeply for her students and her job which can be a subject of conflict in her marriage.

One night after returning to the school Anna is attacked in the parking lot and savagely beaten and left for dead. Fortunately though Anna is found in time and rushed to the hospital where her family and friends wait at her side for her to awaken from the coma while the police are investigating just who could have attacked her.

The story in When I Wake Up is told by alternating the point of view between multiple characters and alternating the time line between what is happening in the current and back months before Anna was attacked. Even with the changing timelines and POV I still found the story easy to follow and the mystery of who attacked Anna very engaging.

However, this story was another I struggled on deciding on my rating due to some content within the book. I don’t want to be too specific as to spoil the story but in my opinion with this one the author went a little too far with connecting everyone together, I kept thinking of the six degrees of separation theory and thinking who this is becoming one degree if possible. There’s shadow and doubt cast on all the characters but it could have been done without so much overlapping in the who knows who department, especially a couple of them being from another town nearby but still intertwined in the lives of everyone else.

In the end I’m rating this one down the middle-ish at 3.5 stars. The story was engaging to find out what happened to Anna but just a tad unbelievable when it came to the overall character building.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

