Why I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson

Standard

Why I Loathe Sterling LaneWhy I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Harper Campbell has 537 rules rules that keep her life in her tiny boarding school very organized and under control. When Sterling Lane transfers to the school however he immediately begins to break Harper’s rules putting her at odds of how to deal with the new bad boy.

Harper’s twin brother Cole ends up rooming with Sterling so Harper needs to come up with a way to keep Sterling away from her brother. But when Cole gets himself into trouble Harper knows she needs to protect him at any cost, even if that means teaming up with Sterling to help save her brother.

Why I Loathe Sterling Lane was another of those books I was back and forth on how to rate all during reading this one. It had potential to be a really cute young adult contemporary read but unfortunately Harper herself really brought this one down for me as I really didn’t like her from the start. It is one thing to be the goody goody character going against the bad boy and even falling for him eventually but Harper bordered on being more of a bit too manic in her rules to sit well with me from the start and then ends up breaking more rules than Sterling.

But with this story I think if Harper had been written a bit differently I probably would have really enjoyed the book. The overall plot was interesting with a bit of mystery to solving Cole’s dilemma, a bit of fun and laughter involved with Sterling’s antics, family loyalty between the twins with Harper wanting to do everything for her brother and a case of opposites attracting between Harper and Cole. Probably more that I’m failing to mention too so while I didn’t care for Harper I still thought this one ended up being an OK read in the end.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

