Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin

Standard

Girl Last SeenGirl Last Seen by Nina Laurin
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

Ten years ago a young girl, Ella Santos, escaped her captor and was rescued after being held hostage for three long years. Now Ella has grown up and changed her name to Lainey. Lainey works two jobs and struggles daily with the mental and physical scars her time in captivity left her with. One day they Lainey’s worst fear comes to pass when she sees the picture of a missing girl, one that looks exactly like her ten year old self had.

Lainey had wondered and watched all these years for her captor to replace her in her basement prison knowing that psychopaths like that rarely stop until caught. Her memories of that time never helped catch her captor though and now Lainey fears that he has struck again and this time that little girl may just be Lainey’s daughter.

When starting off reading Girl Last Seen I was really thinking I was going to love this book. The author’s writing and the story did have me rather engaged in the beginning of the book however somewhere along the line it went a bit downhill leaving me to rate this one at 2.5 stars.

To start with I really never did care for Lainey/Ella as a character. She’s a broken soul after what happened to her that has had a rough life so I really wanted to feel for her but the drinking and pill popping along with some questionable moves just rubbed me the wrong way I suppose. Then I would add that there are things within the story that never quite sit well with me along the way plus when getting to the final wrap up I just didn’t see that working in my mind. Perhaps it’s just me having read several really good thrillers and being a bit too critical but unfortunately this one seemed a bit flawed in the end.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

2 responses »

    • I questioned whether it had been because I’d been on a streak with so many good ones but I think regardless this story just wouldn’t have worked for me. I’d still give the author another try though because there was definitely something there that had my attention in the beginning.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

