Part of the Silence by Debbie Howells

Standard

Part of the SilencePart of the Silence by Debbie Howells
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When Evie Sherman is found beaten and left for dead in the small town of Cornwall where crime just doesn’t happen the police are doing everything in their power to find out what happened. News reports are ran looking for anyone who may have known Evie because when she awoke in the hospital the only thing Evie could remember was her own name and that her daughter was missing.

A local woman named Charlotte hears of Evie’s attack and thinks that she recognizes her from her younger days but not as Evie, as Jen. They hadn’t been close friends but Charlotte remembers Jen because she had made headlines when a child in her care had disappeared never to be found again. Charlotte contacts the police and becomes a link to Jen’s past to try to regain her memories.

Part of the Silence was another completely engaging thriller from author Debbie Howells. Within pages of this story I found myself hooked in and wanting to know more. Was there a missing girl or was Evie/Jen confused with her memory loss? The story is told in multiple POVs and a few flashback scenes added in here and there but never once found it confusing, on the contrary it was very easy to follow and become engrossed in the story.

My only reason for rating this one at four stars is due to my ability to guess early on who to be aware of in the book. I’d truly hoped I’d be wrong but even without an extra twisty ending to shock me I still enjoyed reading the story and know that I’ll still be a fan of Debbie Howells and look forward to reading her next thriller.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

2 responses »

    • Thanks Kim! This one was put up right after they granted me auto approval so I lasted all of like two seconds before clicking the button. I’ve tried to have a bit more restraint when they put up others though. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

