Indigo by Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden, Kelley Armstrong, Jonathan Maberry, Kat Richardson, Seanan McGuire, Tim Lebbon, Cherie Priest, James Moore, and Mark Morris

Standard

IndigoIndigo by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

By day Nora Hesper is a jounalist following the story of missing children that have turned up murdered in the community. By night however Nora becomes Indigo, a brutal vigilante that is taking on the murderous criminal cult called the Children of Phonos responsible for the children’s deaths.

Indigo has a darkness about her slipping from one shadow to another and forging the darkness into weapons to help her in her missions. Nora has memories of her parents deaths and traveling afterwords where she studied meditation and strange magic in a monastery in Nepal after which Indigo became a part of her life. Now however Nora is questioning her memories and just where the darkness in Indigo was formed.

Indigo is a collaboration between ten very well known authors, Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden, Kelley Armstrong, Jonathan Maberry, Kat Richardson, Seanan McGuire, Tim Lebbon, Cherie Priest, James Moore, and Mark Morris. How, where, when and why these ten chose to write this story together I really didn’t know but having read and enjoyed some of their books I had to pick this one up and check it out for myself.

Not being a huge fan of a superhero type of story I was hoping that I would actually like this one despite the authors involved in creating it and I’m glad the story was one that while due to personal preferences I wouldn’t quite give five stars too I still liked reading this one. I was expecting a vigilante/superhero story but Indigo’s is a bit darker than that with a supernatural element added to it which I appreciated. In the end I’d give this one 3.5 stars and recommend it to those fans of the urban fantasy genre.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

