Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2) by Cassandra Clare

Standard

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lord of the Shadows is the second book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare. While this is the second book of a new series really this series is somewhat of a continuation of Clare’s earlier Shadowhunter books from both of her earlier series, the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices. If new to this Shadowhunter world as a reader I’d highly suggest going back to the beginning of the Mortal Instrument series and starting from there as even though the characters change in each series the world has been built from that beginning and there are always many many crossover characters and situations you would miss jumping in a later series.

Now with that warning out of the way onto the Lord of Shadows review. This book continues right after the end of Lady Midnight. All of the main characters in this series were first introduced in the last of the Mortal Instruments series as young children and now five years has passed in which they’ve grown and trained and become the new generation of Shadowhunters. The story takes place in the Los Angeles institute where the Blackthorn children along with Emma Carstairs have been since the war ended in the Mortal Instrument series.

The story started in the first book where Emma Carstairs had never believed her parents were victims of the Dark War but the Clave had refused to investigate further into their murders. When Emma came across a lead that involved faerie activity Emma, Julian Blackthorn and the other Blackthorn siblings begin to investigate on their own since the Clave prohibited Shadowhunters to have any involvement in the faerie world after the Dark War.

I know there are some out there that are not fans of Cassandra Clare continuing on and on with the Shadowhunter world but I am one that is thankful that she continues to do so. I fell in love with this world that Clare has created and look forward to each new addition as it comes along. Having read all of the books to this point it always amazes me how well things tie in with earlier works bringing up even small things one may have forgotten about. The details always add up together in the stories even with some of the books spanning back more than a century.

This particular installment did such a wonderful job bringing all of the characters involved to life and the story stretching the focus to more of the Blackthorn family and getting to know them while continuing to progress what was happening from the first book. I will say I was one that had my jaw drop to the floor at the end of reading Lord of Shadows and will now be impatiently awaiting the next book which I believe isn’t expected until 2019. After so many books surrounding the Shadowhunter world though it also amazes me that the ending of each read never fails to surprise me in some way. Obviously I definitely love this series and will continue to read each book that comes from it eagerly when they arrive.

12 responses »

    • Thanks! I was late starting on these myself and binged them all a couple years ago. Now as I said I impatiently await each new one as they come out. LOL

      I have been watching the TV show and while they do change a lot in it I think it’s pretty decent. The movie on the other hand I wasn’t a big fan of… I think they did better casting in the TV series anyway even with the story changes.

      Like

    • I’ll definitely keep watching to see what they come up with. I’m always thinking well that’s changed or that didn’t happen but I have to admit they’ve stayed close enough to make it interesting and the cast is doing well with it so as someone who has read the books it’s also kind of nice to have a change here or there to keep you wondering.

      Like

Leave a Reply

