Tomorrow’s Kin (Yesterday’s Kin Trilogy, #1) by Nancy Kress

Standard

Tomorrow's Kin (Yesterday's Kin Trilogy, #1)Tomorrow’s Kin by Nancy Kress
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Aliens have landed on Earth and stationed their ship at the New York Harbor. They’ve communicated that their own world is very different from Earth and they cannot leave their ship but are willing to talk with the United Nations about their arrival. This is of course causing a bit of fear and panic among citizens wanting to know more and why the aliens are here.

Dr. Marianne Jenner had made a discovery that got her name on the map but while attending a faculty event someone arrives stating that she has been requested to accompany them to New York. After arriving Marianne finds herself among other elite scientists with the dilemma of solving a scientific discovery with a countdown of ten months until all of Earth will be in danger.

Tomorrow’s Kin is the first book of the Yesterday’s Kin Trilogy by Nancy Kress. First I will admit sci-fi is not a top genre for me so I always find reading them that it’s a bit iffy as to whether I’ll enjoy a book or not. With this particular book I found the story involved to be an interesting one and wanted to give it a try.

For me though this story was entertaining enough plot wise that I wanted to know what would happen but I wasn’t a huge fan of the way it’s executed overall. I knew there was a countdown which made a big part of the story but what we have is some really quick time jumps which leaves me a bit disconnected to the characters. All in all by the end years have gone by and while it’s interesting what is going on I can’t say I wouldn’t have liked more depth to get more hooked into the book.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

