Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown

Standard

Watch Me DisappearWatch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A year after Billie disappeared Jonathon and his daughter Olive are still reeling from her loss and trying to find a way for them to move forward with their lives. Billie had gone hiking by herself and never returned and after more than a week of searching the authorities called off the search finding evidence that suggested Billie may have died in those woods.

Now Olive is having visions of her mother and thinks that she just might be still alive out there and waiting for her family to find her. Jonathon is trying to get a death certificate issued so they can move on with their lives but at Olive’s insistence finds himself also questioning his wife’s fate. The two begin to investigate and uncover the secrets Billie had hidden.

Watch Me Disappear is another book that I struggled with deciding how I really wanted to rate this one. After much deliberating I decided to just stay down the middle with my rating as there were some things in here that I just kept thinking about that sort of bothered me with this mystery. However, even with my doubts I still got engaged and would definitely pick up another read by this author so in no way did I find this one bad at all either.

The first thing I found odd about this mystery/thriller read was that quite honestly for me as a reader it lacked the thrilling part for the most part. Taking place a year after Billie’s disappearance perhaps left out that beat the clock discovery for me. At that point I thought to myself if she is alive then there’s like a 99% chance she’s left on purpose so perhaps you guys should just move on and leave the secrets buried…. although as a fan of mystery/thriller I was still curious as to what happened, just not as intensely.

But also, I found Olive’s “visions” to be a strange addition to this type of book. Thinking to myself while reading these parts and how that gets played out later that this type of thing really didn’t fit this book in my mind. Somehow that whole part of the read made the story progress but it just had an odd feel to it being included, although that is just my personal opinion and it may not bother others. So these things left me scratching my head a bit but thinking I’d try this author again because I saw a lot of potential to the writing.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

