The Stepchild by Joanne Fluke

Standard

The StepchildThe Stepchild by Joanne Fluke
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kathi Ellison is a college student who while trying to start her own life still is living in the shadow of her parents. Kathi’s father is up for election as candidate for the U.S. Senate so while Kathi has moved in with her boyfriend she’s still hiding that fact so as not to interfere with her father’s campaign or earn her father and step mother’s disapproval.

Shortly after moving in though Kathi begins to have nightmares and these horrible headaches that seem to make her black out completely. When Kathi was a child she was in an accident that killed her mother after which she had nightmares but as an adult now she thought it was all behind her. Now she’s seeing things that she just can’t explain and needs to find the answers to what is haunting her.

The Stepchild by Joanne Fluke was originally published back in 1980 and is now being republished by Kensington books. Knowing that the story is over thirty years old I was paying attention while reading to see how dated it may of been. When finished I think it’s held up fairly well to be read today as a new book. While there aren’t mentions of many of today’s electronics and things it didn’t take away from the story held within.

The one thing that held me back again with this read from giving it a higher rating is the fact that it seemed that really early on in the book I knew what was coming from the story. At the beginning it opens with the accident happening and then jumps into Kathi as an adult starting to be haunted again and just from the few opening pages I guessed the reveal at the end. However that being said I still found myself enjoying the book and the author’s writing style so I would definitely try more of her work in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

2 responses »

    • Yeah I saw it was a reissue and was slightly hesitant on picking it up but I thought I’d give it a try anyway. There was one point I thought gee, now we’d just search the internet but oh well, it was still a good story without technology. LOL There was also a bit at the end I didn’t expect so if you do some guessing like I did you may still end up surprised. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

