Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka

Standard

Girl in SnowGirl in Snow by Danya Kukafka
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

One snowy morning in a suburb in Colorado the body of a young high school student is found shaking up the small community. After the news is given to the other students Cameron finds himself sick to his stomach and mourning the loss of Lucinda Hayes, the girl he’d been watching and dreaming of forever. Jade finds herself wondering if the wish she made for the perfect Lucida to disappear had been granted.

Russ finds himself working the case looking for whoever is responsible for the girl’s death. It becomes known that Cameron was watching Lucinda and he’s called in for questioning with the police wondering if he had taken things too far. However Cameron’s memories of that night are a bit fuzzy and even he would like to know what happened to the girl of his dreams.

As much as I wanted to like Girl in Snow I came away with the thought that I just really didn’t get this one at all. Being that it’s supposed to be a mystery/thriller read it really didn’t hold any of the aspects that attract me to that type of story. Basically a dead girl is found and at the end you find out the who/why but between those events the police are a joke and there really isn’t much investigating but more digging into the characters lives.

Now as far as the characters in this story Cameron and Jade are both teens so it gives the book a bit of young adult feel with a big portion being told from their POV. But I can’t see this one marketed towards that age with the sexual content involved either so that was also where I was left scratching my head. But on top of that I didn’t really care for any of the characters or their actions. I supposed they are meant to be flawed in their own ways but to me their issues were just plain unlikable.

I’m leaving this read with the thought that I suppose there is an audience out there for any book or writing style but in regards to this one I just wasn’t the audience it’s meant for. But I’m not really sure what audience to recommend picking this one up as I felt the thriller side felt flat and the drama and character development fell flat to me also.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

4 responses »

    • Sorry Carla! I went in trying to ignore the negative that I’d seen about it but found that to me the characters were just ugh, couldn’t like them so since there are some positive reviews too maybe you’ll disagree and actually like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

