Buried Secrets by T.J. Brearton

Standard

Buried SecretsBuried Secrets by T.J. Brearton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Brett and Emily Larson are newlyweds that have just moved into what they think will be their perfect home deep in the countryside. The couple are excited to start their new lives and new family when Emily discovers she is expecting. Busy making changes in their new place Brett decided to dig out a garden in the back when he comes across some bones while digging.

Calling in the police not knowing for sure what they’ve found it is determined that the bones are human so an investigation begins. The police determine that the bones are recent and haven’t come to their final resting place by accident. Along with the bones is a box with a hidden message that Brett thinks he’s figured out but what he finds is more than he ever bargained for.

Buried Secrets by T.J. Brearton was a decent crime read but for me this one just had trouble standing out and becoming something memorable. The characters were alright, the story line has enough action with the investigation and events but also seemed to be a tad on the predictable side as far as where the story takes the reader.

The story changes the point of view between the newlyweds and a man that has been incarcerated in the opening chapters which led me to come to my own conclusions with how these would become related later on in the read. Unfortunately my guesses were spot on and with the exception of one little twist at the end I didn’t guess in advance I felt as if there weren’t any surprises for me bringing my enjoyment down a bit. A solid story but I wasn’t quite as wowed as I would like in the end.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

