The Other Girl by Erica Spindler

Standard

The Other Girl: A NovelThe Other Girl: A Novel by Erica Spindler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fifteen years ago Randi got into a truck with her brother’s friend and immediately regretted it when he made a pass at her. Thinking quick Randi got out of the situation only to find herself in one that was completely worse when a young couple offered her a ride. Randi found herself waking to be tied up with the other girl also being held captive. Randi escaped and promised to bring help but then the law enforcement refused to believe anyone else was in danger since Randi was known as a wild child and always coming up with a story.

Now Randi is known as Officer Miranda Rader of the Harmony, Louisiana police and has moved on from that horrible night fifteen years before but has never forgotten. When called into a new crime scene Miranda finds herself investigating the brutal murder of one of the town’s most beloved college professors. When Miranda’s prints turn up at the crime scene however she finds herself back at that place from the past when no one would believe her and needs to do whatever she can to find out what is going on and clear her name.

The Other Girl by Erica Spindler is a thriller read with a bit of romance also mixed into it. The book tells the story in the present while giving flashes back here and there into the past in order to weave a story for the reader building up the connection between events. There were plenty of twists and turns along the way to make the story completely engaging and keep the pages turning.

While some things in the story may come as a bit obvious as events unfold for the reader there are also some that kept me guessing as everything was eventually uncovered. The characters and story in here kept me entertained throughout as the story unfolded and always kept me wondering just what would come next. I’d definitely look for any other reads from this author after finishing this one and would recommend checking this one out.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

12 responses »

  1. I just finished reading this one at 3am this morning after starting it at midnight,lol. It was really good! Nice review 😊 I need to write my review before I leave for vacation and hiatus from my blog for the next 6 wks, but I’m not inspired right now to write, lol. I do want to read more of Erica Spindler’s books though!πŸ“šβ€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Stephanie! If it makes you feel any better I actually finished it a few days ago and just got around to writing up a review myself so I can certainly relate to procrastinating. Hope your time off goes well for you too. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I don’t feel too bad 😊 I’ve got books I read in June I still haven’t reviewed, lol. But they aren’t Arc’s so I’m not that worried. I just need to be motivated to write this one and one for The Good Daughter, which at least I’ve started and post before Friday πŸ˜„ I’m running out of time, lol. Oh well, I may write it another time and have Word Press post it while I’m on hiatus before or on the 22nd. I can’t stress about it. And thanks! I’m looking forward to it! I need some serious downtime before heading back to work and school ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been trying to not let myself get more than 4 or 5 behind before giving myself a push and actually getting the review written. Also try to stay ahead on dates in case I am in one of my I don’t want to sit down and write moods. LOL I’m so easily distracted though with reading blogs, browsing Goodreads or Netgalley, reading emails, setting up promo posts… next thing I know it’s oops, I don’t have time to do that review now I guess I’ll do it later.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I has surgery the end of June and was on a 2 week hiatus, so that put everything behind, so I’m still playing catch up and not feeling 100% yet. I’m just going to have to do them as I can. I only need to do one ARC review before I go on my next hiatus for a book being released 8/8. I will have to write one while on hiatus for a book being released 8/22, but that is okay. I will be back to the blog Sept 17th, or at least that is my plan now, and I have no ARCs until after that, so I will be good! I’m only behind on books that I bought and read while I was recovering from surgery, so I honestly don’t care of they get reviewed, lol. I would like to review them but if I do great, if not, at least they weren’t ARCs. My plan is to do them as I can or just do many mini reviews of them if need be. I won’t have a lot of time once I get back to work since I have 180 students this semester and I am taking 4 classes of my own plus working on a 300+ dissertation that is due in mid April, lol. Getting my PhD in May is priority πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can sympathize with you on getting back on track after surgery, I had one back in Nov last year and it took me quite a while to get back into a decent rhythm reading and writing up reviews. First couple of weeks it was pain meds knocking me out then just finding the motivation to write a review which hey I still get in my moods without the surgery excuse. LOL Sounds like you are going to be plenty busy though so I can see needing the break from keeping up with a blog too. Hopefully you’ll find your rhythm though and be able to balance it all and still find a bit of time to read here and there to relax from the rat race of daily life. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • It’s definitely hard! I slept a lot at first then I managed to read a lot while just lying around…too much, lol. I think if I hadn’t read 17 books in July then I might have reviewed them all. I don’t know. I read 20 books in May and was able to review them all BUT my 3 kids were still in school too, lol. I’m hoping that I can balance everything. This will be the hardest semester, but reading is my stress release even one book a month would be great! And then I’ll blog when I can 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • My problem the first few weeks was being a bit groggy even when awake taking my meds. And yes, the first week it was nap off an on for the most part. LOL I’ll cross my fingers for you though and hope you find that balance soon with all you’ll have going on. Sounds like a lot to get back to after being a bit out of it so recently too.

        Like

    • Thanks Kim! I’ll be watching to see what you think of this one. I was happy it flowed really well and didn’t end up one of those that got confusing, always enjoy blending the past and present unless the author loses me when they don’t blend well together.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Zoe! I’m fairly early reviewing this one so you still have plenty of time to try to get approved for it, it doesn’t archive until Sept 5th. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

